Farrington Stadium Named Softball National Field Of The Year

Dec. 2, 2002

TEMPE, Ariz. - For the second time in the past three years, Arizona State University's Alberta B. Farrington Softball Stadium has been named the national winner of the NFCA/Turface Grounds Crew Field Maintenance Field award for the 2002 season. Arizona State head softball coach Linda Wells will receive the award at the NFCA National Convention in St. Petersburg, Florida.

Dedicated in April, 2000, Alberta B. Farrington Stadium is a 1,500-seat facility that includes 500 back seats. Among the stadium's many features are locker rooms, training room, offices, concession stands, a team shop and a team room. Arizona State also won the 2000 NFCA/Turface Grounds Crew Field Maintenance Field award. Pete Wozniak heads the field maintenance staff for the Sun Devils.

Award winners were chosen by a panel of independent judges made up of grounds maintenance professionals selected by the NFCA and Turface.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network