Gesser Headlines All-Pacific-10 Football Team

Dec. 2, 2002

2002 All-Pacific-10 Football Team (NCAA Release)in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

PULLMAN, Wash. -- Washington State quarterback Jason Gesser was selected co-offensive player of the year in the Pacific-10 Conference Monday and four of Gesser's teammates were named to the league's first team.

Joining Gesser on the first team were guard Derrick Roche and tackle Calvin Armstrong on offense, along with defensive tackle Rien Long and cornerback Marcus Trufant.

Joining the WSU quarterback as co-player of the year is USC quarterback Carson Palmer.

While no Cougar received second team recognition, the five first team selections were the most ever by WSU. The Cougars have had four players named to the all-league first team, the last time in 1994.

Roche was making his second straight appearance on the All-Pac-10 first team, while Trufant was one of three players named on all 10 ballots. The other unanimous selections were USC safety Troy Polamalu and ASU defensive end Terrell Suggs.

Both Long and Armstrong are underclassmen, while Gesser, Roche and Trufant are seniors. Long is a junior and was also named Monday as one of three finalists for the Outland Trophy and to the All-America first team selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

Washington State and Oregon State were the only conference teams with five first team selections. This week's Cougar opponent UCLA had four players named to the first team, as did USC. Arizona and Oregon each had three players receive first team recognition.

In addition, 11 Cougars received honorable mention recognition. They include five offensive selections Devard Darling (WR), Drew Dunning (PK), Jermaine Green (RB), Tyler Hunt (OL) and Jerome Riley (WR). Six Cougars on defense were honored, Kyle Basler (P), Erik Coleman (FS), Isaac Brown (DE), Jason David (CB), Fred Shavies (DE) and Jeremey Williams (DT).

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network