Five Bruins Selected To NSCAA All-Region Team

Dec. 3, 2002

Five members of the UCLA men's soccer team were selected to the NSCAA All-Far West Region Team, including first-team honoree Tim Pierce. Other selections from UCLA were second-team picks Zach Wells and Scot Thompson and third-team honorees Ryan Futagaki and Adolfo Gregorio.

Pierce, a senior forward from Dana Point, was a third-team selection a year ago and a two-time first-team All-Pac-10 honoree. Pierce leads the 2002 Bruins in scoring with 10 goals, seven assists and 27 points.

Wells, a junior goalkeeper from Costa Mesa, has posted six shutouts and a 0.77 goals against average that ranks second in the Pac-10 Conference. Wells earned All-Pac-10 second-team honors this year.

Thompson, a senior defender from Trabuco Hills, leads a Bruin defense that has recorded a 0.75 team goals against average while shutting out eight opponents. The Bruin team co-captain was a first-team all-conference selection this year.

Futagaki, a senior midfielder from Fountain Valley, is a M.A.C. Hermann Trophy finalist and team co-captain. This season, he has scored three goals with two assits.

Gregorio, a junior midfielder from Hilmar, has scored seven goals and four assists this season and earned first-team all-conference acclaim for the second year in a row.

UCLA's five all-region selections were the most by any team in the Far West this year and the most by a Bruin team since 1999.

The Bruins continue their run in the NCAA Tournament with a quarterfinal match against Penn State on Saturday, Dec. 7 at 7:00 pm in Drake Stadium.


First team: Goalkeeper - Josh Saunders (Cal); Defenders - Ryan Cochrane (Santa Clara), Todd Dunivant (Stanford), Frank San Fillipo (San Jose State); Midfielders - Johanes Maliza (Stanford), Mike Munoz (Cal), Andres Murriagui (LMU); Forwards - Ryan Coiner (San Diego), Rob Friend (UCSB), Roger Levesque (Stanford), Tim Pierce (UCLA), Arturo Torres (LMU).

Second team: Goalkeeper - Zach Wells (UCLA); Defenders - Brian Phillips (CS Northridge), Troy Roberts (Cal), Scot Thompson (UCLA); Midfielders - Guillermo Arzate (UCSB), Hector Orellana (CS Fullerton), CJ Klaas (Washington); Forwards - Kelly Frederick (UNLV), Josh Hansen (San Francisco), Nate Jaqua (Portland), Jamil Walker (Santa Clara).

Third team: Goalkeeper - Curtis Spiteri (Portland); Defenders - Taylor Graham (Stanford), Matt Kovar (LMU), Edwin Miranda (CS Northridge); Midfielders - Ryan Futagaki (UCLA), Adolfo Gregorio (UCLA), Joe Zaher (Oregon State); Forwards - Alan Gordon (Oregon State), Drew McAthy (UCSB), Jesse Servin (CS Northridge), Jason Thompson (UC Irvine).

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network