Wade, Briggs, Wells Named All-Pac-10

Dec. 3, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Arizona receiver Bobby Wade, linebacker Lance Briggs and linebacker Ray Wells earned first-team All-Pacific-10 Conference honors in voting by the league's coaches this week. All are UA seniors.

Senior offensive lineman Makoa Freitas was selected to the second team, while Wade also received second-team honors as a punt return specialist. Wells was selected as the league's top special teams player.

Five UA players received honorable mention in the tabulation -- senior quarterback Jason Johnson, senior tight end James Hugo, senior defensive tackle Young Thompson, senior free safety Jarvie Worcester and redshirt freshman cornerback Darrell Brooks.

Briggs and UCLA senior cornerback Ricky Manning were the only players selected for first-team honors for the third consecutive year. Wade was a first-team all-purpose selection in 2000 and an honorable mention pick as a wide receiver in both 2000 and last year.

The Wildcats last had three or more players selected to first-team honors in 1998 when Chris McAlister, Trung Canidate, Marcus Bell, Daniel Greer and Yusuf Scott were named. The largest contingent of Cats in UA's 25 years of Pac-10 affiliation was the 1994 class of all-league players in Tedy Bruschi, Sean Harris, Tony Bouie, Brandon Sanders, Steve McLaughlin, Ontiwaun Carter and Warner Smith.

Wade set school single-season and career receiving records this year with 93 receptions to give him 230 in his four years. Briggs finished with 308 career tackles after leading the team for the third consecutive year with 98 this season. Wells was a key to UA special teams and also finished second to Briggs with 77 hits and led the team with three interceptions.

All-Pac-10 First Team:

OFFENSE -- QB Jason Gesser-WSU, QB Carson Palmer-USC, RB Onterrio Smith-UO, RB Steven Jackson-OSU, WR Bobby Wade-UA, WR Shaun McDonald-ASU, WR Reggie Williams-UW, TE Mike Seidman-UCLA, OL Kwame Harris-SU, OL Mike Saffer-UCLA, OL Derrick Roche-WSU, OL Jacob Rodgers-USC, OL Calvin Armstrong-WSU.

DEFENSE -- DL Terrell Suggs-ASU, DL Eric Manning-OSU, DL Tully Banta-Cain-Cal, LB Richard Seigler-OSU, LB Lance Briggs-UA, LB Matt Grootegoed-USC, DB Troy Polamalu-USC, DB Marcus Trufrant-WSU, DB Ricky Manning-UCLA, DB Dennis Weathersby-OSU.

SPECIALISTS -- PK Jared Siegel-UO, P Nate Fikse-UCLA, KOR LaShaun Ward-Cal, PR Keenan Howry-UO, ST Ray Wells-UA.

OTHER UA HONORS -- OL Makoa Freitas (2nd team offense), PR Bobby Wade (2nd team specialty); honorable mention: QB Jason Johnson, CB Darrell Brooks, TE James Hugo, FS Jarvie Worcester, DT Young Thompson.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network