Mike Seidman Named Mackey Award Finalist

Dec. 4, 2002

The Nassau County Sports Commission (NCSC) announced the three finalists for the 2002 John Mackey Award. The finalists are: Mike Seidman, UCLA, Dallas Clark, Iowa and Kellen Winslow II, Miami (FL).

Mike Seidman, Sr., UCLA: Mike has developed into the top tight end in the Pac-10 and one of the best in the nation. Nationally, his 563 receiving yards ranks No. 3 among tight ends and also ranks No. 2 on UCLA's tight end single-season yardage list second only to Paul Bergmann's 577 yards in 1982 (since 1965). He is the Pac-10 tight end yardage leader while his 37 receptions rank third.

Dallas Clark, Jr., Iowa: Dallas moved to tight end from linebacker in 2001 and in only his second season at the position, his 645 yards receiving this year ranks No. 1 nationally and earned him All American honors by the FWAA. Iowa is 16-0 when he has three or more receptions and he earned Big Ten offensive player of the week honors in Iowa's win over Purdue.

Kellen Winslow II, So., Miami (FL): While Kellen leads Miami in receptions with 44, they are also good for second nationally. Additionally, his 579 yards receiving and 6 touchdown receptions also rank second nationally among tight ends. An All-America and All-BIG EAST candidate in 2002, Kellen was one of four true freshmen to play last year during Miami's title run.

The winner of the award will be announced December 11, 2002 and will be presented his trophy at the NCSC's Annual Awards Dinner Banquet at the Chateau Briand in Westbury, NY on April 8, 2003. The John Mackey Award selection committee is composed of national sportswriters, commentators and outstanding NFL players.

The John Mackey Award was created by the NCSC under the guidance of board member Don McPherson, a county native and former NFL and Syracuse University All-American quarterback. Mackey, also a Nassau County native, is regarded as one of the best athletes to have played the position of tight end. In addition to being an NFL Hall of Famer, he is a Super Bowl winner (Baltimore, Super Bowl V) and was the first President of the NFLPA.

The NCSC is a non-profit, 501 (c) (3) organization created in 1992 to enhance the quality of life for Nassau County residents through sport. For additional information please contact Bryan Cain at 516-365-9625 or bryan@nassausports.org.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network