Palmer Wins Unitas Award

Dec 4, 2002

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - Southern California's Carson Palmer on Wednesday wonJohnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, given annually to the nation's top seniorquarterback.

Palmer also was named one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

Palmer completed 288-of-458 passes for a USC record 3,639 yards and 32touchdowns during the regular season for the fifth-ranked Trojans (10-2).Palmer is the Pac-10's career leader in passing yards and total offense. TheTrojans have averaged 42 points during their seven-game winning streak.

The 6-foot-5 quarterback beat out Miami's Ken Dorsey, Marshall's ByronLeftwich, Iowa State's Seneca Wallace and Louisville's Dave Ragone for the Unitas Award.

Palmer was chosen by a panel of football experts. The presentation willbe made in Louisville on Dec. 13 by Hall of Famer Bart Starr.

The award is named for Hall of Fame quarterback Johnny Unitas, who played atLouisville before his 18-year NFL career. Unitas died Sept. 11 at 69.

Palmer is the second Trojan to win the Unitas Award, joining Rodney Peete (1988).

Former Fresno State quarterback David Carr won the award last year. Pastwinners include current NFL quarterbacks Chris Redman (1999), Peyton Manning(1997) and Danny Wuerffel (1996).

The other finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year are Dorsey, Iowa quarterback Brad Banks, Penn State running back Larry Johnson and Miami running back Willis McGahee.

The winner will be named on Dec. 12 during the ESPN College Football Awards Show in Orlando.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network