Stanford Nearly Sweeps Pac-10 Cross Country Awards

Dec. 4, 2002

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Stanford won four of the top five Pacific-10 Conference cross country honors announced Wednesday by commissioner Tom Hansen. Stanford director of track and field/cross country Vin Lananna (Men's and Women's Coach of the Year), Grant Robison (Men's Athlete of the Year), Alicia Craig (Women's Athlete of the Year) and Neil Davis (Men's Newcomer of the Year) won top honors. Arizona State's Jessica Scalzo was named the Pac-10 Women's Newcomer of the Year.

Lananna led the Stanford men's squad to its third NCAA championship in 2002 to win his fifth Pac-10 coaching honor on the men's side. He also earned his fifth women's conference coaching honor by leading the Cardinal to a second-place national finish. Both teams won the NCAA West Regional and Pac-10 Championships.

Robison (Jr., San Angelo, TX/McMinnville HS) became the third straight Stanford men's runner and fourth overall to win the Pac-10 Men's Athlete of the Year honor by winning the Pac-10 Championships for the second straight year and placing third at the NCAA Championships, the highest finish of any Pac-10 runner.

Craig (So., Gillette, WY/Campbell County HS) became the third Stanford women's runner to win the Pac-10 Women's Athlete of the Year honor. Craig won the NCAA West Regional and finished third at the NCAA Championships after a fourth-place showing at the Pac-10 Championships. Craig's third-place showing at the NCAA's was also the highest by a Pac-10 runner.

Davis (Fr., Los Altos, CA/Bellarmine Prep HS) became the second Stanford men's runner to win the Pac-10 Men's Newcomer of the Year honor after finishing seventh at the Pac-10 Championships and eighth at the NCAA West Regional, the top finish by a Pac-10 men's newcomer in both events.

Robison, Ian Dobson (Jr., Klamath Falls, OR/Klamath Union HS), Donald Sage (Jr., Elmhurst, IL/York Community HS) and Adam Tenforde (Jr., Richland, WA/Hanford HS) earned First Team All-Pac-10 honors on the men's side. Davis, Ryan Hall (So., Big Bear Lake, CA/Big Bear HS) and Peter Meindl (Fr., Orchard Park, NY/Orchard Park HS) and Justin Romaniuk (Suffern, NY/Suffern HS) earned Second Team All-Pac-10 honors.Craig was joined by Sara Bei (So., Santa Rosa, CA/Montgomery HS), Lauren Fleshman (Sr., Canyon Country, CA/Canyon HS) and Malindi Elmore (Sr., Kelowna, British Columbia/Kelowna HS) on the women's All-Pac-10 First Team. Erin Sullivan (Sr., Jericho, VT/Mt. Mansfield Union) earned Second Team honors.

Andrew Hill (3.43 GPA, Electrical Engineering/Economics -- Jr., Los Altos, CA/Los Altos HS) and Tenforde (3.85 GPA, Human Biology) were also named to the men's Pac-10 All-Academic First Team. Davis (3.39 GPA, Undeclared), Dobson (3.17 GPA, Political Science), Robison (3.09 GPA, African & Afro-American Studies) and Sage (3.11 GPA, Economics) earned Second Team Pac-10 All-Academic honors. Chris Emme (So., The Woodlands, TX/The Woodlands HS), Evan Fox (So., La Mesa, CA/West Hills HS), Hall, Seth Hejny (Sr., Grand Junction, CO/Central HS), Sean Knapp (Jr., Fox Island, WA/Gig Harbor HS), Louis Luchini (Jr., Ellsworth, ME/Ellsworth HS), Romaniuk, David Stillman (Jr., Ebertswil, Switzerland/Riverside HS) and Philip West (Jr., Cary, NC/Cary HS) were named honorable mention Pac-10 All-Academic.

Bei (3.50 GPA, Undeclared) and Jeane Goff (3.60 GPA, Undeclared -- So., Turner, OR/Cascade HS) were named women's First Team Pac-10 All-Academic. Craig (3.38 GPA, Undeclared), Elmore (3.29 GPA, International Relations) and Katie Hotchkiss (3.40 GPA, Economics -- Sr., Fremont, CA/Mission San Jose HS) earned Second Team Pac-10 All-Academic honors. Fleshman and Sullivan earned honorable mention Pac-10 All-Academic honors.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network