Ogonna Nnamani Tabbed Third-Team Verizon Academic All-American

Dec. 5, 2002

Stamford, Conn. - Verizon and CoSIDA released today the 2002 Verizon Academic All-America� Volleyball Team. Stanford sophomore outside hitter Ogonna Nnamani was honored as a third-team Academic All-American. She was one of only two underclassmen selected to an all-america team.

The thirty-nine volleyball players selected to this year's national team have a combined grade point average of 3.93 and the combined average of the twelve first team members is just under 3.98.

'This program finds the best of the best and rewards them for their hard work, dedication and talent. The 2002 volleyball team is an amazing example of the skill level of today's student-athletes,' said CoSIDA President, Alan Cannon.

The Verizon Academic All-America Teams program recognizes student-athletes who have succeeded on the field and in the classroom. Individuals are selected by votes from CoSIDA, the 1,800-member College Sports Information Directors of America. To be eligible, an athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve and maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 3.20 on a scale of 4.00. Since the program's inception in 1952, over 12,000 student-athletes have been honored with the award.

Under an agreement with CoSIDA, Verizon has been the exclusive sponsor of the Academic All-America program since 1985. Verizon, America's literacy champion, strongly believes that literacy is a key ingredient to success and outstanding achievements in life. The Academic All-America program is part of Verizon Reads, the company's national campaign to promote literacy through corporate philanthropy, partner collaboration, community outreach, and customer and employee participation.

For more information about Verizon, visit www.verizon.com.

For more information about the Academic All-America programs, visit www.cosida.com or email academicallamerica@millsport.com.


First-TeamNAME, SCHOOLLauren Fendrick, UCLABritten Follett, Southern IllinoisKarla Kucerkova, AmericanLaura Pilakowski, NebraskaJennifer Pritchard, WinthropLibby Windell, Arkansas

Second TeamNAME, SCHOOLJill Arganbright, Northern IowaPaige Benjamin, WashingtonElizabeth Gower, ColoradoNatalie Hand, AmericanAmber Holmquist, NebraskaElisabeth Kwak-Hefferan, PennsylvaniaHeather Wollyung, Quinnipiac

Third TeamNAME, SCHOOLIsabell Anderer, MarshallCrystal Brim, CampbellCassie Busse, MinnesotaLauren Cuyler, Louisiana StateJulie DuPont, CincinnatiCari Jensen, Kansas StateOgonna Nnamani, StanfordStefanie Rewitz, Hofstra

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network