Cal's Relay Sets Record at Texas Invitational

Dec. 7, 2002

The No. 5 University of California men's swimming team posted two victories in the final day of competition at the Texas Invitational in Austin, Texas to finish second with 637.50 points. The Golden Bears' 400-yard freestyle relay team smashed the invitational record in the event, posting an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 2:52.86. Arizona's 2001 400 free relay team formerly held the record at 2:55.05.

The host, No. 1 Texas, won the invitational with 721 points, while No.13 Wisconsin finished third with 584 points.

Freshman Michael Cavic notched his second individual win of the weekend, placing first in the 100-yard freestyle with an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 43.28. Cavic also won the 50 free in the first day of competition. Cavic anchored Cal's record-setting 400 free relay team, in a squad also comprised of sophomore Duje Draganja, senior Joe Bruckart and freshman Evan Lane.

Junior Alex Lim bested another Texas Invitational record, this time in the 200-yard backstroke, as he (1:43.30) and Texas' Aaron Peirsol (1:41.34) both overcame Jim Wells' former 1994 mark of 1:43.38. Lim's runner-up finish was an NCAA automatic qualifying time. Lim also posted an NCAA consideration time in the 200-yard butterfly, placing fourth with a time of 1:46.03.

Several other Bears closed out the event with strong races. Draganja won the 100 free bonus final with an NCAA consideration time of 44.62, while freshman Rick Barbosa and sophomore Caleb Rowe also posted NCAA consideration times as they tied for fifth place in the 200-yard breaststroke. They both touched the wall at 2:00.50.

The Bears completed their fall season with a 1-0 record and are next in action at UNLV, Jan. 6. For complete results, visit

Texas Invitational Cal Results (Dec. 7)
1650-yard freestyle - 6. Ryan Lean 15:34.35, 10. John Dorr 15:37.85, 19. Matt Schmelzer 16:00.83; 200-yard backstroke - 2. Alex Lim 1:43.30, 8. Jeff Natalizio 1:47.31, 15. Chris Gibson 1:50.86; 100-yard freestyle - 1. Michael Cavic 43.28, 8. Evan Lane 45.00, 9. Duje Draganja 44.62, 18. Matt Lyon 45.53; 200-yard breaststroke - 5t. Rick Barbosa 2:00.50, 5t. Caleb Rowe 2:00.50, 13. Miguel Molina 2:02.83, 24. Quentin Byma 2:07.13; 200-yard butterfly - 4. Alex Lim 1:46.03, 20. Keith Vogelgesang 1:51.35, Dorian Delamare 1:54.06; 400-yard freestyle relay - 1. Cal (Draganja, Bruckart, Lane, Cavic) 2:52.86, 12. Cal (Molina, Lyon, Chase, Gibson) 3:03.41.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network