Carson Palmer Named USC's Most Valuable Player

Dec. 9, 2002

LOS ANGELES - USC All-American senior quarterback Carson Palmer, the Pac-10's career passing and total offensive leader, was named the Most Valuable Player of the Orange Bowl-bound Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Monday night (Dec. 9) at the Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Palmer also was USC's Player of the Game versus UCLA after throwing 4 touchdowns in the 52-21 victory over the Bruins.

Two-time All-American senior safety Troy Polamalu won USC's Most Inspirational Player award.

Senior tailback Justin Fargas, who ran for 120 yards in Troy's 44-13 win over the No. 7 Fighting Irish, was named USC's Player of the Game versus Notre Dame.

Senior guard Zach Wilson was chosen USC's Offensive Lineman of the Year, while sophomore end Kenechi Udeze was USC's Defensive Lineman of the Year. Senior cornerback Darrell Rideaux was USC's Special Teams Player of the Year.

A complete list of the awards:

Most Valuable Player: quarterback Carson Palmer

Most Inspirational Player: safety Troy Polamalu

Linemen of the Year: offensive guard Zach Wilson (offense), defensive end Kenechi Udeze (defense)

Special Teams Player of the Year: cornerback Darrell Rideaux

Service Team Players of the Year: offensive guard Kurt Katnik (offense), defensive end Travis Tofi (defense)

Player of the Game versus UCLA: quarterback Carson Palmer

Player of the Game versus Notre Dame: tailback Justin Fargas

Jack Oakie 'Rise and Shine' Award (longest run of the year): tailback Sultan McCullough (62 yards vs. Colorado)

Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (for overall academic achievement): tight end Scott Huber

Bob Chandler Award (for the underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): wide receiver Keary Colbert

John McKay Award (for the underclassman with the most competitive spirit): safety Mike Ross

Courage Award: tailbacks Malaefou MacKenzie and Justin Fargas

Lifters Award: wide receiver Grant Mattos, safety Troy Polamalu

Team Captains: quarterback Carson Palmer, safety Troy Polamalu

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network