Ryan Wells Named 2002 Football Team Most Valuable Player

Dec. 9, 2002

Senior wide receiver Ryan Wells won three awards and was voted the 2002 Team MVP at the annual Football Awards Banquet held December 8. Wells, a three-year starter and four-year letterwinner, caught 23 passes in '02 for 231 yards and one TD this past season. He also returned 36 kicks for 715 yards, broke four school records and became the Stanford's all-time leading kickoff return specialist. Wells also won the Al Masters Award for the player displaying the highest degree of leadership and respect of his teammates, and was one of three team captains. Seniors Casey Moore and Colin Branch were also elected team captains for the 2002 season.

2002 Stanford team awards

* Irving S. Zeimer Award (MVP):Ryan Wells
* The Vardell Award (to the junior or senior player who best epitomizes excellence in both academics and athletics): Tom Kolich
* Al Masters Award (to the player displaying the highest degree of leadership and respect of his teammates): Ryan Wells
* Menlo-Athlerton Trophy Award (most outstanding freshman): Julian Jenkins
* Deswarter-Eller Award (most outstanding sophomore): Oshiomogho Atogwe
* Gundelach Award (most outstanding junior): Kwame Harris
* Jim Reynolds Award (senior player whose courage on the field and devotion to the game are an inspiration to all): Greg Schindler
* Russell Huston Award (player exemplifying aggressiveness, exceptional performance and unheralded efforts): Matt Leonard
* Phil Moffat Awards (special teams players): Offense-Ryan Wells; Defense-Timi Wusu
* Greg Piers Awards (service team players): Offense-Gerald Commissiong; Defense-Mike Silva
* Frank Rehm Awards (most outstanding back/lineman in the Big Game):Back - Jared Newberry; Lineman - Babatunde Oshinowo
* Team Captains: Ryan Wells, Casey Moore, Colin Branch

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network