Chow Wins Broyles Award For Top College Assistant

Dec. 11, 2002

LITTLE ROCK (AP) - Southern California offensive coordinator Norm Chow was picked Wednesday night as winner of the Broyles Award, given to the top assistant coach in college football.

Chow, 56, was the first assistant to be named a finalist for the award at two different schools. He also was a finalist in 1996 when he was with Brigham Young.

The No. 5 Trojans (10-2) play Iowa (11-1) in the Orange Bowl on Jan. 2. Chow put together the nation's 10th-ranked offense at 440.8 yards per game in his second season with USC.

In Chow's offense, quarterback Carson Palmer set seven Pac-10 records and 23 Southern Cal passing and total offense marks. This season, the Heisman Trophy finalist completed 62.9 percent of his passes (288 of 458) for 3,639 yards and 32 touchdowns.

Chow was presented with the award by the Major Sports Association during a banquet at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

Before going to Southern Cal, Chow, a former All-Western Athletic Conference guard at Utah, spent the 2000 season as offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach at North Carolina State. Before that he was at BYU for 27 seasons.

Other finalists for the award were Notre Dame defensive coordinator Kent Baer, Ohio State defensive coordinator Mark Dantonio, Boise State offensive coordinator Chris Peterson and Georgia defensive coordinator Brian VanGorder.

As the Broyles winner, Chow receives a cast bronze statue of former Arkansas coach Frank Broyles with longtime assistant Wilson Matthews standing at his side worth $5,000. Every finalist received a set of golf clubs and a personalized golf bag.

Matthews, who died in May at 80, was honored with a special ceremony at the Little Rock banquet.

Previous winners include Florida State defensive coordinator Mickey Andrews (1996); Michigan defensive coordinator Jim Herrmann (1997); former Tennessee offensive coordinator David Cutcliffe (1998); former Georgia Tech offensive coordinator Ralph Friedgen (1999), Oklahoma offensive coordinator Mark Mangino (2000) and Miami defensive coordinator Randy Shannon (2001).

The award is in honor of the Arkansas athletic director and former Razorback football coach.

Former Broyles assistant coaches have combined to win six Super Bowls, five national collegiate championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2,000 games. More than two dozen of Broyles' assistants went on to become head coaches at the college or pro level, including Barry Switzer, Jimmy Johnson, Joe Gibbs, Hayden Frye, Johnny Majors, Jackie Sherrill and Doug Dickey.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network