Oakes, Pryce Named Finalists for Prestigious U.S. Soccer Honor

Dec. 11, 2002

Complete Release from U.S. Soccer

CHICAGO - UCLA women's soccer players Nandi Pryce and Jill Oakes have recently been named finalists for U.S. Soccer's Chevy Young Female Athlete of the Year Award.

Fans can begin voting starting on Friday (Dec. 13) at www.ussoccer.com. Online votes will be tallied and will be equivalent to 50 percent of the total votes. As in years past, 100 votes will be compiled from members of the national media and U.S. Soccer representatives (from National Team coaches to the National Board of Directors). Ballots will be accepted until Monday, January 6, 2003, at which time the votes will be tallied. U.S. Soccer, in conjunction with Chevrolet, will then announce the winners of the four awards at separate press conferences in January.

'We're honored to once again be involved with the Athlete of the Year awards,' said Brian Boyd, Chevrolet brand promotional manager. 'This year, each Adult Athlete winner will have their choice of a Chevy TrailBlazer or Chevy Impala. We'll also donate $1,000 to the U.S. Soccer Foundation in the name of each Young Athlete winner. Chevy has a long history of being there, supporting aspiring athletes and our support of U.S. Soccer is one more example of this.'

U.S. Soccer's Young Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards were created in 1998 to highlight up-and-coming stars within the U.S. National Team system. The finalists have been named on the basis of: a) competing and excelling at the Youth National Team level (as well as the professional or collegiate level) during the calendar year, b) exhibiting decorum on and off the field which reflects well on U.S. Soccer, c) contributing toward the growth, development, credibility and popularization of soccer in the United States, and d) displaying potential to succeed at a high standard in the years to come.Past winners for the Young Male award include DaMarcus Beasley (2001), Landon Donovan (2000), Ben Olsen (1999) and Josh Wolff (1998). On the women's side, past winners include Aleisha Cramer (2001), Aly Wagner (2000), Lorrie Fair (1999) and Cindy Parlow (1998).

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network