Pryce Named First-Team All-American

Dec. 12, 2002

LOS ANGELES - UCLA defender Nandi Pryce was named first-team NSCAA/adidas All-American Thursday at a news conference in Dallas, TX in conjunction with the 2002 Men's College Cup.

Pryce, a junior defender from Casselberry, Fla., started 21-of-22 matches this season, missing one match after being called up for training camp with the Full U.S. National Team. She helped the UCLA defense post 12 shutouts, while giving up just 13 goals all season. She was named one of 15 finalists for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy, given to the player of the year in college soccer.

The NSCAA/adidas All-America teams are determined through voting by NSCAA member coaches from across the nation. The teams, from youth to NCAA Division I, will be honored at the NSCAA/adidas All-America Luncheon, to be held Saturday, Jan. 18, as part of the 2003 NSCAA Convention in Kansas City, Mo.

The complete list of this year's honorees follows.

2002 National Soccer Coaches Association of America/adidas NCAA Division I Women's All-America Team

Position, Name, Year, College, Hometown

First TeamG, Nicole Barnhardt, So., Stanford, Gilbertville, Pa.D, Lauren Orlandos**, Sr., Portland, Lake Forest, Calif.D, Catherine Reddick*, Jr., North Carolina, Birmingham, Ala.D, Nandi Pryce, Jr., UCLA, Casselberry, Fla.M, Callie Withers, Sr., Stanford, Los Altos Hills, Calif.M, Johanna Lohman*, Jr., Penn State, Silver Spring, Md.M, Sarah Popper, Sr., Connecticut, Penn Yann, N.Y.M, Aly Wagner**, Sr., Santa Clara, San Jose, Calif.F, Chrissie Abbott, Jr., West Virginia, Avon, OhioF, Marcia Wallis, Sr., Stanford, Los Gatos, Calif.F, Courtney Crandell, Fr., UNC-Charlotte, Des Moines, IowaF, Christine Sinclair#, So., Portland, Burnaby, British Columbia

Second TeamG, Meghan Burke, Sr., Saint Louis, St. Louis, Mo.D, Candace Chapman, So., Notre Dame, Ajax, OntarioD, Amy Sullivant, Sr., Michigan, Utica, Mich.D, Keeley Dowling, So., Tennessee, Carmel, Ind.M, Mary McVeigh, Sr., Dartmouth, Northampton, Mass.M, Melanie Kasparek, Fr., Rhode Island, Trumbull, Conn.M, Aleisha Cramer-Rose*, Jr., BYU, Lakewood, Colo.M, Lisa Stoia, Jr., West Virginia, Shirley, N.Y.F, Abby Crumpton, Sr., Michigan, Rochester Hills, Mich.F, Kate Gordon*, Sr., Marquette, Sioux City, IowaF, Christie Welsh***, Sr., Penn State, Massapequa, N.Y.F, Deliah Arrington, Sr., Clemson, Pawleys Island, S.C.

Third TeamG, Megan Rivera, So., Auburn, Miami, Fla.D, Leslie Gaston, Sr., North Carolina, Montgomery, Ala.D, BrookeFlamson, Sr., Cal Poly, Newport Beach, Calif.D, Michelle Biehl, So., Villanova, Southampton, Pa.D, Devon Hawkins, Sr., Santa Clara, Olympia, Wash.M, Katie McBain, Jr., Texas, Los Altos Hills, Calif.M, Lindsey Huie, Fr., Portland, Mission Viejo, Calif.M, Edda Gardarsdottir, Jr., Richmond, Reykjavik, IcelandF, Kelly Wilson*, So., Texas, Odessa, TexasF, Christine Latham**, Sr., Nebraska, Calgary, AlbertaF, Danielle Berkemeier, Sr., Miami (Ohio), Fairfield, OhioF, Lindsey Woodward, So., Texas A&M, Midland, Texas

* indicates previous selection

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network