Suggs And Harris Named Morris Trophy Winners

Dec. 13, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Defensive end Terrell Suggs of Arizona State and offensive tackle Kwame Harris of Stanford have been named winners of the 23nd annual Morris Trophy.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Suggs, a 6-foot-3, 242-pound junior from Chandler, Ariz., has had a sensational, record-setting season that has earned him unanimous first-team All-America honors. Suggs shattered the Pac-10 and NCAA single-season records in leading the nation with 22 quarterback sacks. He also set a new Pac-10 season record for tackles for losses with 29.5. The junior owns the Arizona State records for career quarterback sacks at 42 and career tackles for losses at 63.5. In addition to his exploits as a pass rusher, Suggs this season also intercepted a pass and forced six fumbles. The Morris Trophy is the latest in a flood of post-season honors that Suggs has accumulated this year. He has already been named winner of the Rotary Lombardi Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, and has been named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year by both the Pac-10 coaches and The Sporting News.

Harris, a 6-foot-7, 308-pound junior from Newark, Del., becomes the first Stanford offensive lineman, and just the second Cardinal overall, to win the Morris Trophy in the 23-year history of the award. Harris has emerged as one of the top offensive linemen in the country since stepping in as a starter at Stanford last season. He earned second-team All-Pac-10 honors last season and moved up to first-team status this season in voting by the league coaches. Harris also was named first-team All-Pac-10 and honorable mention All-America by The Sporting News.

Suggs and Harris will be presented their awards at the prestigious PALO Club Million Dollar Awards Banquet at Santa Clara, Calif., on February 11, 2003.

PACIFIC-10 CONFERENCE--Named defensive end Terrell Suggs of Arizona State and offensive tackle Kwame Harris of Stanford as winners of the Morris Trophy as outstanding defensive and offensive linemen in the Conference.

Previous Morris Trophy Winners

	Year	Offense,	Defense	1980	Roy Foster, USC	Vince Goldsmith, Oregon	1981	Roy Foster, USC	Fletcher Jenkins, Washington	1982	Bruce Matthews, USC	George Achica, USC	1983	Gary Zimmerman, Oregon	Keith Millard, Washington State	1984	Dan Lynch, Washington State	Ron Holmes, Washington	1985	Jeff Bregel, USC	Erik Howard, Washington State	1986	Danny Villa, Arizona State	Reggie Rogers, Washington	1987	Randall McDaniel, Arizona State	Dana Wells, Arizona	1988	Joe Tofflemire, Arizona	Dana Wells, Arizona	1989	Bern Brostek, Washington	Esera Tuaolo, Oregon State	1990	Pat Harlow, USC	Steve Emtman, Washington	1991	Lincoln Kennedy, Washington	Steve Emtman, Washington	1992	Lincoln Kennedy, Washington	Rob Waldrop, Arizona	1993	Todd Steussie, California	D'Marco Farr, Washington	1994	Tony Boselli, USC	Chad Eaton, Washington State	1995	Jonathan Ogden, UCLA	Tedy Bruschi, Arizona	1996	Bob Sapp, Washington	Darrell Russell, USC	1997	Olin Kreutz, Washington	Jeremy Staat, Arizona State	1998	Yusuf Scott, Arizona	Inoke Breckterfield, Oregon State	1999	Travis Claridge, USC	Willie Howard, Stanford	2000	Chad Ward, Washington	Andre Carter, California	2001	Levi Jones, Arizona State	Kenyon Coleman, UCLA	2002	Kwame Harris, Stanford	Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network