Terrell Suggs Named Winner Of The Morris Trophy.

Dec. 13, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Arizona State defensive end Terrell Suggs has been named the winner of the 23rd annual Morris Trophy. The Morris Trophy, which an Arizona State player has now won for the third time in the past six years, is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Suggs, a 6-foot-3, 242-pound junior from Chandler, Ariz., has had a sensational, record-setting season that has earned him unanimous first-team All-America honors. Suggs shattered the Pac-10 and NCAA single-season records in leading the nation with 22 quarterback sacks. He also set a new Pac-10 season record for tackles for losses with 29.5. The junior owns the Arizona State records for career quarterback sacks at 42 and career tackles for losses at 63.5. In addition to his exploits as a pass rusher, Suggs this season also intercepted a pass and forced six fumbles. The Morris Trophy is the latest in a flood of post-season honors that Suggs has accumulated this year. He has already been named winner of the Rotary Lombardi Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, and has been named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year by both the Pac-10 coaches and The Sporting News.

Suggs will be presented his award at the prestigious PALO Club Million Dollar Awards Banquet at Santa Clara, Calif., on February 11, 2003.

Previous Morris Trophy Winners

Year Offense Defense

1980 Roy Foster, USC Vince Goldsmith, Oregon

1981 Roy Foster, USC Fletcher Jenkins, Washington

1982 Bruce Matthews, USC George Achica, USC

1983 Gary Zimmerman, Oregon Keith Millard, Washington State

1984 Dan Lynch, Washington State Ron Holmes, Washington

1985 Jeff Bregel, USC Erik Howard, Washington State

1986 Danny Villa, Arizona State Reggie Rogers, Washington

1987 Randall McDaniel, Arizona State Dana Wells, Arizona

1988 Joe Tofflemire, Arizona Dana Wells, Arizona

1989 Bern Brostek, Washington Esera Tuaolo, Oregon State

1990 Pat Harlow, USC Steve Emtman, Washington

1991 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Steve Emtman, Washington

1992 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Rob Waldrop, Arizona

1993 Todd Steussie, California D'Marco Farr, Washington

1994 Tony Boselli, USC Chad Eaton, Washington State

1995 Jonathan Ogden, UCLA Tedy Bruschi, Arizona

1996 Bob Sapp, Washington Darrell Russell, USC

1997 Olin Kreutz, Washington Jeremy Staat, Arizona State

1998 Yusuf Scott, Arizona Inoke Breckterfield, Oregon State

1999 Travis Claridge, USC Willie Howard, Stanford

2000 Chad Ward, Washington Andre Carter, California

2001 Levi Jones, Arizona State Kenyon Coleman, UCLA

2002 Kwame Harris, Stanford Terrell Suggs, Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network