Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Chris Brown Voted Colorado MVP

Dec 15, 2002

DENVER - Junior tailback Chris Brown, who was in the thick of the Heisman Trophy race until suffering a bruised sternum late in the year, was selected as the Most Valuable Player by his University of Colorado teammates. The announcement came Sunday as part of CU's annual senior banquet at the Marriott City Center Hotel.

Brown, who rushed for 1,744 yards and 18 touchdowns before being sidelined for the last two games due to the injury, is the first junior on offense to be named team MVP since wide receiver Rae Carruth shared the honor with defensive tackle Kerry Hicks in 1995. Otherwise, you have to go back to 1989 to find a non-senior to win it on the offense (quarterback Darian Hagan captured it that season).

Sixteen players were named to CU's prestigious Victory Club, as they earned the honor by recording a winning performance and/or productivity grade by the coaches in at least nine games. Those honored were OT Justin Bates, DB J.J. Billingsley, DT Tyler Brayton, WR Jason Burianek, FB Brandon Drumm, WR D.J. Hackett, OG Marwan Hage, DE Marques Harris, CB Phil Jackson, OG Wayne Lucier, P Mark Mariscal, WR Derek McCoy, SS Kory Mossoni, TB Bobby Purify, CB Donald Strickland and ILB Drew Wahlroos.

The complete list of CU award winners announced Sunday, selected by the coaching staff unless otherwise indicated:

Lee Willard Award (outstanding freshman): DB J.J. Billingsley
Hang Tough Award (overcame the most adversity): CB Donald Strickland
Best Interview (selected by media): OT Justin Bates and OG Wayne Lucier (tie)
Tyronee "Tiger" Bussey Award (perseverance over adversity, injury and/or illness): LB Aaron Killion
Dean Jacob Van Ek Award (academic excellence): OT Justin Bates
Bill McCartney Award (special teams achievement): P Mark Mariscal
Regiment Award (greatest contribution with least recognition): SS Kory Mossoni
Derek Singleton Award (spirit, dedication, enthusiasm): OG Wayne Lucier
The Fugitive Award (symbolizing "I Don't Care" attitude for benefit of team): QB Robert Hodge
Tom McMahon Award (dedication and work ethic): FB Brandon Drumm
Dave Jones Award (outstanding defensive player): DT Tyler Brayton
John Mack Award (outstanding offensive player): TB Chris Brown
Zack Jordan Award (most valuable player): TB Chris Brown