Cardinal Tab Three Athletes To AVCA All-America Teams

Dec. 18, 2002

New Orleans, La. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce the 22nd annual AVCA All-America teams for Division I women's volleyball. The awards will be presented Dec. 20, 2002, at the AVCA All-America/Player of the Year banquet at the New Orleans Marriott Hotel.

Senior outside hitter Logan Tom (Salt Lake City, UT) and junior middle blocker Sara McGee (Davis, CA) were named first-team All-Americans while sophomore outside hitter Ogonna Nnamani (Normal, IL) was a second-team selection.

Stanford's Logan Tom was selected AVCA All-America First-Team for the fourth consecutive season to become just the third player to accomplish the feat. Amber Holmquist is a three-time AVCA All-American and is a repeat first-team choice. Hawai'i placed two players, Kim Willoughby and Lily Kahumoku, on the AVCA All-America First-Team for the second time. Florida'a Aury Cruz is a repeat AVCA All-America First-Team selection. The AVCA added a 12-member third-team to its All-America program this season, increasing the athletes recognized to 36 athletes.

Sara McGee, a junior from Davis, California, is a 6-3 middle blocker for NCAA Tournament second-seed Stanford. She tallied 1.40 blocks per game for second in the Pac 10, in addition to 3.12 kills per game. McGee hit .431 for the season, which ranks third nationally.

Logan Tom, a senior from Salt Lake City, is a 6-1 outside hitter for third-ranked Stanford. She becomes just the third player ever selected AVCA All-America First Team four times. Tom, the 2001 AVCA National Player of the Year, averaged 4.94 kills, 3.17 digs and 0.82 blocks for third-ranked Stanford.

Ogonna Nnamani, a sophomore from Normal, Illinois, is a 6-1 outside hitter for third-ranked Stanford. She averaged 4.06 kills and 0.66 blocks per game while hitting .327 for the season. Nnamani, a two-time AVCA All-American and a 2002 Verizon Academic All-American, tallied double-figure kills in 31 of 35 matches.

The selections are made by the AVCA Division I All-America Committee: chair - Jeff Nelson, Texas Tech; Judy Green, Alabama; Jill Hirschinger, New Hampshire; Janice Kruger, Maryland; Kathy Litzau, Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Jim McLaughlin, Washington; Steve Schlick, Cal Poly; and Pete Waite, Wisconsin.

2002 AVCA Division I All-America First-Team

Emily Adams,	Univ.of Southern CaliforniaDanielle Bauer,	UC Santa BarbaraPaige Benjamin,	University of WashingtonGreichaly Cepero, University of NebraskaAury Cruz, Universityof FloridaStacey Gordon, The Ohio State UniversityAmber Holmquist,	University of NebraskaLily Kahumoku,	University of Hawai'iSara McGee,	Stanford UniversityApril Ross,	Univ.of Southern CaliforniaLogan Tom,	Stanford UniversityKim Willoughby,	University of Hawai'i

2002 AVCA Division I All-America Second-Team

Cassie Busse, University of MinnesotaErin Byrd, University of WisconsinKim Glass, University of ArizonaBrittany Hochevar, Long Beach State UniversityJennifer Joines, University of the PacificNicole McCray, University of FloridaLynnette Moster, Georgia TechOgonna Nnamani, Stanford UniversityLaura Pilakowski, University of NebraskaBecky Potter, Santa Clara UniversityCara Smith, Penn State UniversityKatie Wilkins, Pepperdine University

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network