Logan Tom Tabbed AVCA National Player of the Year

Dec. 20, 2002

New Orleans, La. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced today that Stanford University's Logan Tom, a senior outside hitter from Salt Lake City, Utah, was named the 2002 American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I National Player of the Year.

She becomes only the fourth player in AVCA history to earn National Player of the Year honors twice in her career, joining Misty May (Long Beach State), Teee Williams (Hawaii) and Tara Cross (Long Beach State).

The presentation was made at the AVCA All-America/Player of the Year Banquet in New Orleans. The banquet was held in conjunction with the AVCA Annual Convention.

Tom, who also earned the AVCA National Player of the Year award in 2001, has led Stanford to a 32-4 record and spot in the NCAA Championship match against conference rival Southern California on Dec. 21. She averages 4.94 kills, 0.82 blocks and 3.17 digs per game. Tom tallied a .320 attack percentage in 57 nationally ranked games during the regular season.

Tom, the only current collegiate player on the U.S. National Team, earned Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year. She is just the third player to earn AVCA All-America First-Team honors all four seasons of eligibility. Tom, who currently ranks third in the Pac-10 for career kills and second at Stanford for career aces, earned the AVCA/Sports Imports National Player of the Week on Nov. 11. Tom is the all-time leader on The Farm in kills as well.

Previous AVCA Division I Players of the Year:

2001: Logan Tom, Stanford2000: Greichaly Cepero, Nebraska1999: Lauren Cacciamaru, Penn State; and Kerri Walsh, Stanford1998: Misty May, Long Beach State1997: Misty May, Long Beach State1996: Angelica Ljungquist, Hawai'i1995: Cary Wendell, Stanford; and Allison Weston, Nebraska1994: Laura Davis, Ohio State1993: Danielle Scott, Long Beach State1992: Natalie Williams, UCLA1991: Antoinnette White, Long Beach State1990: Bev Oden, Stanford1989: Tara Cross, Long Beach State; and Teee Williams, Hawai'i1988: Tara Cross, Long Beach State1987: Teee Williams, Hawai'i1986: Mariliisa Salmi, BYU1985: Kim Oden, Stanford 
Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network