Women's Tennis Chosen for 2003 National Team Indoor Championships

Dec. 27, 2002

Berkeley, Calif. - The University of California women's tennis team has been selected as one of 16 teams to compete in the prestigious 2003 USTA/ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championships, February 6-9 at the University of Wisconsin's A.C. Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison. The women join the men as both Bear squads were invited to their respective tournaments.

The USTA/ITA National Team Indoor Championship is the nation's premier indoor tournament. This event, which usually serves as a preview of the May NCAA Championships, began in 1988 and has been hosted by Wisconsin each year.

The 13th-ranked Bears last participated in this event in 2000, advancing all the way to the finals. Cal defeated No. 49 Wisconsin, 6-1, in the first round, No. 7 Duke, 7-1, in the quarterfinals, and No. 9 Wake Forest, 5-4, in the semifinals, setting up a Stanford/Cal championship finale. Making their first national title appearance in school history, the Bears could not outlast the Cardinal, falling to the top-ranked team in the nation, 8-0, giving Stanford their fifth USTA/ITA National Team Indoor Title since 1988.

The 2003 field consists of some of the best collegiate teams in the country. Participants include: No. 6 Duke, No. 2 Florida, defending champion No. 3 Georgia, No. 15 Kentucky, No. 5 North Carolina, No. 14 Northwestern, No. 1 Stanford, No. 12 Tennessee, No. 22 Texas A&M, No. 74 Tulsa, No. 4 UCLA, No. 11 USC, No. 8 Wake Forest, No. 18 William & Mary and host No. 27 Wisconsin.

Stanford and Florida have each won a record six USTA/ITA titles while Georgia is the only other school to win this event, emerging victorious three times.

The Golden Bears kick off the 2003 season on January 31 as they travel to San Diego to take on the University of San Diego at 1:30 p.m.


Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network