Arizona Women's Swimming Pummels NAU, 135-105

Jan. 10, 2003

TUCSON, Ariz. - The University of Arizona Women's Swimming and Diving squad began its spring schedule with a convincing victory over Northern Arizona 135-105, on Friday. Junior Emily Mason, sophomore Brianna Loecher and freshman Jenna Gresdal, who each won two events, paced the Lady Wildcats. Some of Friday's events, although won by the Wildcats, were played as exhibitions.

Gresdal began the afternoon with a bang when she easily quelled her competition en route to a victory in the 100y back (56.05). Later, she claimed victory in the 200y IM, when she touched the wall in 2:08.92.

Sophomore Brianna Loecher had her break out meet of the season to date on Friday. Loecher outlasted the rest of field in her victory in the 1650y free (17:49.98). In later action, Loecher remained strong enough to garner victory in the 200y fly event when she completed her race in 2:11.78.

Finally, Emily Mason came on late in the afternoon to win two of the last four events in Friday's competition. Mason won the 200y back and then 200y breast events with times of 2:10.97 and 2:24.77, respectively.

Among the other of the total 12 winners for the Wildcats in Friday's competition were freshman Katie Willis, junior Jessica Wagner and senior Lindsey Highstrom, just to name a few.

Arizona also excelled in the diving aspect of Friday's meet. Junior Claire Febvay continued her string of dominating performances in the 1-meter springboard event. Febvay easily won the event by collecting 321.35 points. Following immediately behind her was junior transfer Daniela Bemme, whose 313.45 points earned her an NCAA qualifying standard.

Both Arizona's men and women's swimming and diving squads take their next dip into competitive waters on January 24-25. On that particular weekend, Pac-10 rivals Stanford and California come to the Hillenbrand Aquatic Center. Both of these squads are ranked in the top ten nationally, so the Wildcats look to be in for a challenge. Both days' events commence at 1 pm.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network