Dream Team Announced

Jan. 15, 2003

Corvallis, Ore. - Gary Payton earned the most number of votes (630) in the Oregon State University Homecoming Dream Team Poll contest, held over a seven-day period on osubeavers.com. This week's poll asks for you to pick a favorite moment or game in Beaver basketball history.

Payton was easily the top recipient in the point guard total, receiving 94 percent of the total. Payton, who lettered at Oregon State from 1987-90, is the school's all-time leading scorer with 2,172 points. He was a consensus first team All-American and Sports Illustrated Player of the Year in 1990. In addition, Payton earned first team All-Pac-10 Conference honors three times, and was the league's Player of the Year in 1990.

Beaver fans selected Steve Johnson as the second-highest vote recipient with 419, and as the Dream Team's center. Johnson lettered in 1977 and 79-81. He was a consensus first team All-American and Pac-10 Player of the Year as a senior. Johnson scored 2,035 points, the second-highest total in OSU history. He was a three-time All-Pac-10 selection.

A.C. Green garnered 53 percent of the vote at power forward, and the third most votes of the poll with 380. Green edged Charlie Sitton for the position by 151 votes. The Portland native lettered from 1982-85 and was a three-time All-Pac-10 Conference selection. He also earned Pac-10 Player of the Year honors in 1984, among other accolades.

Bill Sherwood was named the Dream Team's small forward, earning 43 percent of the vote total. Sherwood transferred to Oregon State and lettered in 1987-88. He led the team in scoring as a senior with a 14.7 scoring average. He was the Beavers' co-team MVP in 1988.

The tightest voting came in the shooting guard category, where Brent Barry edged Eric Knox by 10 votes. Barry lettered from 1992-95, and was an All-Pac-10 Conference selection as a senior. He was the team's MVP twice, and finished his career 11th for career scoring at the school with 1,304 points.

Dream TeamPF - A.C. GreenSF - Bill SherwoodC - Steve JohnsonPG - Gary PaytonSG - Brent Barry
Now on Pac-12 Network
5:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network