NGCA Recognizes Linda Vollstedt as Recipient of the Gladys Palmer Meritorious Service Award

Jan. 15, 2003

CHICAGO, Ill. - Former outstanding women's collegiate golf coach, Linda Vollstedt has been announced by the National Golf Coaches Association as the 2003 recipient of the Gladys Palmer Meritorious Service Award Presented by The College Golf Foundation. Vollstedt will receive this prestigious honor during the NGCA Hall of Fame Banquet on Wednesday evening, January 22 at the Sheraton World Resort in Orlando, Florida. Vollstedt becomes the 15th different recipient of this award.

In her 21 years at the helm of the Arizona State women's golf program, the name 'Linda Vollstedt' became synonymous with excellence in the world of women's golf. The five-time national coach of the year retired from Arizona State in June of 2001 after leading the Sun Devils to six NCAA championships in the 1990s. Twenty of her former student-athletes have gone on to play at the elite level - the LPGA Tour. She ended her ASU coaching career as just one of 11 head coaches to mentor Sun Devil programs for more than 20 years.

As a result of her efforts, Vollstedt has been recognized by her colleagues with numerous coaching honors. Most recently she was named one of Golf World Magazine's Top 10 College Coaches of the 20th century (4th on the list). She was named Golfweek's 1997 National Collegiate Coach of the Year. She also swept the 1995 awards being named Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year, West Regional Coach of the Year, Golfweek National Coach of the Year and National Golf Coaches Association Co-Coach of the Year. Vollstedt claimed consensus national coaching honors in 1993 and 1994 and was named the 1989 National and Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

In 2000, Vollstedt was honored by the Standard Register PING LPGA Tournament Board of Governors with the Linda Vollstedt Award for Service and Leadership in Women's Sports. The award is given annually to a person or organization that shows courage, commitment, passion for women's opportunities in sports, volunteerism and a desire to help youngsters be successful. That same year, Vollstedt was also awarded the 2000 PGA Anser Award which annually honors an individual whose positive efforts have influenced the history of golf in Arizona.

The 1994 NGCA Hall of Fame inductee is currently employed by ASU's Intercollegiate Athletic Department as the director of marketing and promotions for Sun Devil golf.

The Gladys Palmer Meritorious Service Award, selected by NGCA, is given in recognition of outstanding services above and beyond the call of duty. Outstanding service may take the form of years of unselfish involvement in promoting golf at any level, or highly significant service of far-reaching proportions. Gladys Palmer's contributions to women's collegiate golf were highly significant. As Chairman of the women's division of Physical Education at The Ohio State University, she organized the first women's golf championship in June 1941. She believed that it was up to the educational institutions to run an event for collegiate women.

For more information or ticket availability for the NGCA Hall of Fame Banquet, please contact NGCA Headquarters at (312)551-0814.

About the NGCA

The National Golf Coaches Association, founded in 1983, is a non-profit organization representing women's collegiate golf coaches. The NGCA was formed to encourage the playing of college golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition. Today, the NGCA represents over 325 programs throughout the U.S. and is dedicated to educating, promoting and recognizing both its members and the student-athletes they represent.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network