Alumni Defeats 2003 Trojans, 13-8

Feb. 1, 2003

LOS ANGELES - Alberto Concepcion (2000-02) and Tanner Eriksen (2000) both homered Saturday and the USC Baseball Alumni team defeated the 2003 Trojans, 13-8, at Dedeaux Field. Five current players in the major leagues participated for the Alumni Team: Aaron Boone (Cincinnati Reds), Seth Etherton (Cincinnati Reds), Jason Lane (Houston Astros), Eric Munson (Detroit Tigers) and Randy Flores (Colorado Rockies).

Concepcion, the 2002 Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year, hit a three-run homer in the third while Eriksen, who was a pitcher for the Trojans, hit a two-run shot to center in the fifth.

Senior Anthony Lunetta and freshman Jeff Clement hit solo home runs for the 2003 Trojans.

The highlight was pitcher Bob Blakeslee throwing a scoreless inning in the third. Blakeslee was a pitcher on the 1958 national championship team and No. 1-ranked 1959 squad.

Other former Trojans in attendance included legendary head coach Rod Dedeaux, Steve Bach (captain of the 1961 national championship squad), Ken Guffey Miller (first baseman for the 1958 national champions) and Art Mazmanian (1948 All-America first team).

No. 6 USC opens the 2003 season on Tuesday (Feb. 4) at UC Santa Barbara at 2 p.m. All games this season will be broadcast live on

USC Alumni	023-115-1 - 13-20-02003 Trojans 	000-122-3 - 8-12-0

USC Alumni ParticipantsRyan Stromsborg Bob LeachAbel Montanez Jay JaffeBill Peavey Justin PapernyTanner Eriksen Javier MejiaJustin Gemoll Ernie DiazAlberto Concepcion Brian VieiraRon Flores Robb GorrRandy Flores Rik CurrierJason Brown Casey BurrillBrian Ponchak Mark ToddJason Lane Dominic CorreaSeth Etherton Jason SaenzJosh Persell Sam CeciEric Munson Aaron BooneBrian Barre Bob Blakeslee

# # #

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network