Arendsen One Of Seven To Be Inducted Into Michigan Hall of Fame

Feb. 14, 2003

DETROIT, Mich. -- Oregon softball coach Kathy Arendsen will be one seven inductees to the 2003 Michigan Hall of Fame as announced Wednesday at Ford Field in Detroit, Mich. Arendsen, a native of Zeeland, Mich., will join former Lions running back Barry Sanders, former Pistons guard Joe Dumars and sportswriter Jerry Green, among others, at a May 12 dinner ceremony at Ford Field.

'It's a tremendous honor, especially in your home state,' Arendsen said. 'To be deserving of this with all of the great athletes that have come out of Michigan is a great honor. And, I'm happy for our sport. Not very many softball players get this kind of recognition.'

Arendsen, who is in her first season as head coach at Oregon, was inducted into the Softball Hall of Fame in 1996, and, at 37, was the youngest player ever inducted into the American Softball Association (ASA) Hall of Fame. Arendsen's playing career spanned 15 years, during which she compiled a 338-26 record, 79 no-hitters, 42 perfect games, 265 shutouts and a 0.15 ERA, while pitching for the Raybestos Brakettes (Stratford, Conn.). She retired from playing in 1992 and prior to taking over at Oregon, Arendsen coached six seasons at Mississippi State and 13 years overall. Under Arendsen, the Ducks are off to their best start in school history (8-1).

Arendsen is also a member of the Cal State-Chico and Texas Women's College Hall of Fame as well as the Michigan ASA Hall of Fame and the Grand Rapids (Mich.) Hall of Fame. She was honored as one of the 50-best ever athletes to come out of the state of Michigan by Sports Illustrated in December 1999.

Lou Creekmur, a Lions All-Pro tackle (1950-1959) and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame; and Shirley Muldowney, a three-time world champion drag racer, are the other members of the class. Billy Pierce, a Highland Park native who pitched for the Tigers in 1945 and 1948 and with the Chicago White Sox, is the Legends inductee.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder