Nelson and Scott Selected as Players to Watch for National Player of the Year Award

Feb. 15, 2003

The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today its initial watch list for the 2nd annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. California seniors Veronica Nelson and Courtney Scott were among this list.

This award, which is considered the Heisman Trophy in women's collegiate softball and is the only national player of the year award, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

The initial watch list is comprised of 40 players that represent 23 colleges and 11 different collegiate Conferences. Even if a player doesn't appear on the initial watch list, they are still eligible for the award. The players, listed in alphabetical order, are:

 Nicole Barber, University of GeorgiaLauren Bay, Oklahoma State UniversityTia Bollinger University of WashingtonLiz Bouck, DePaul UniversityKelli Braitsch, University of OklahomaKara Brun, Arizona State UniversityLindsay Chouinard, DePaul UniversityMegan Ciolli, University of Notre DameJamie Clark, University of WashingtonSelena Collins, Texas A&M UniversityAshley Courtney, University of AlabamaJodie Cox, Cal State FullertonChristina Enea, University of OklahomaLindsay Gardner, University of TexasKeira Goerl, UCLAAlicia Hollowell, University of ArizonaPeaches James, University of NebraskaLovieanne Jung, University of ArizonaOli Keohohou, Brigham Young UniversityTara Knudsen, Georgia Tech UniversityAndrea Loman, University of Notre DameJackie McClain, University of AlabamaBecky McMurtry, University of Louisiana-LafayetteTairia Mims, UCLAVeronica Nelson, University of California-BerkeleyTori Nyberg, Stanford UniversityGina Oaks, Cal State FullertonKim Ogee, University of NebraskaCat Osterman, University of TexasKristen Rivera, University of WashingtonCourtney Scott, University of California-BerkeleyJaime Southern, Fresno State UniversityBrandi Stuart, Florida State UniversityJenny Topping, Cal State FullertonMackenzie Vandergeest, ArizonaLisa Wangler, NebraskaNatasha Watley, UCLAKim Wendland, University of GeorgiaPhelan Wright, Arizona State UniversityMarissa Young, University of Michigan 

The first 25 finalist will be announced on April 8th. The list will then be reduced to ten players on April 29th, with three finalists being named on May 13th. The winner of the 2003 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced at the 2003 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City. The winner will also be recognized during the ASA National Council Meeting in Orlando, FL, in November.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player's academic institution.

UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman was selected as the inaugural winner of the award after leading her Bruins to the Pac 10 title and a berth into the Women's College World Series.

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of amateur softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder