Three Bruins Included in USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List

Feb. 17, 2003

Oklahoma City, OK - The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, has announced its initial watch list for the 2nd annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. Three Bruins, Keira Goerl, Tairia Mims and Natasha Watley, are among the list of 40 players. This award, which is considered the Heisman Trophy in women's collegiate softball and is the only national player of the year award, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman was selected as the inaugural winner of the award after leading her Bruins to the Pac 10 title and a berth into the Women's College World Series. She will be presented with her trophy at halftime of Saturday's home men's basketball game against Stanford.

The initial watch list is comprised of 40 players that represent 23 colleges and 11 different collegiate Conferences. Even if a player doesn't appear on the initial watch list, they are still eligible for the award. The players, listed in alphabetical order, are:

Nicole Barber, University of Georgia
LaurenBay, Oklahoma State University
TiaBollingerUniversity of Washington
Liz Bouck, DePaul University
Kelli Braitsch, University of Oklahoma
Kara Brun, Arizona State University
Lindsay Chouinard, DePaul University
Megan Ciolli, University of Notre Dame
Jamie Clark, University of Washington
Selena Collins, Texas A&M University
Ashley Courtney, University of Alabama
Jodie Cox, Cal State Fullerton
Christina Enea, University of Oklahoma
Lindsay Gardner, University of Texas
Keira Goerl, UCLA
Alicia Hollowell, University of Arizona
Peaches James, University of Nebraska
Lovieanne Jung, University of Arizona
Oli Keohohou, Brigham Young University
Tara Knudsen, Georgia Tech University
Andrea Loman, University of Notre Dame
Jackie McClain, University of Alabama
Becky McMurtry, University of Louisiana-Lafayette
Tairia Mims, UCLA
Veronica Nelson, University of California-Berkeley
Tori Nyberg, Stanford University
Gina Oaks, Cal State Fullerton
Kim Ogee, University of Nebraska
Cat Osterman, University of Texas
Kristen Rivera, University of Washington
Courtney Scott, University of California-Berkeley
Jaime Southern, Fresno State University
Brandi Stuart, Florida State University
Jenny Topping, Cal State Fullerton
Mackenzie Vandergeest, Arizona
Lisa Wangler, Nebraska
Natasha Watley, UCLA
Kim Wendland, University of Georgia
Phelan Wright, Arizona State University
Marissa Young, University of Michigan

The first 25 finalist will be announced on April 8th. The list will then be reduced to ten players on April 29th, with three finalists being named on May 13th. The winner of the 2003 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced at the 2003 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City. The winner will also be recognized during the ASA National Council Meeting in Orlando, FL, in November.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player's academic institution.

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of amateur softball in the United Statesand a member of the United States Olympic Committee. As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network