Michelle Greco Named Lieberman Award Finalist

Feb. 19, 2003

UCLA senior guard Michelle Greco was announced by the Rotary Club of Detroit as one of the 12 finalists for the 2002-03 Nancy Lieberman Award, which honors the nation's top point guard in women's Division I college basketball.

Greco, a 5-9 senior from LaCrescenta, CA (Crescenta Valley HS), is the leading scorer in the Pac-10 Conference with a 19.1 points per game average. She also leads the conference in steals with a 2.91 per game average. With 1,598 career points, Greco ranks seventh on UCLA's all-time career scoring list, and she also ranks second in career steals with 274. Her steals total ranks fifth in Pac-10 history.

The 2001 Pac-10 scoring leader and first-team all-conference selection has recorded a Pac-10 best 11 20-point games this season, including a 31-point effort against Pepperdine and a 28-point/8-steal effort against Stanford. She set a school record by making 32 consecutive free throws and currently holds the school record for career free throw percentage with a .821 mark.

Greco was selected to the CLASS Award watch list this year and earned Pac-10 Player of the Week honors for Jan. 6-21. She was also named the Las Vegas Shootout Tournament MVP and was selected to the all-tournament team at the Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort Classic.

Also named as finalists are: Coretta Brown (North Carolina), Erin Grant (Texas Tech), Temeka Johnson (LSU), Kara Lawson (Tennessee), Ashley McElhiney (Vanderbilt), Sara Nord (Louisville), Yolanda Paige (West Virginia), Cappie Pondexter (Rutgers), Diana Taurasi (Connecticut), Amy Waugh (Xavier) and Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota).

The Lieberman Award honors the top point guard who displays floor leadership and play-making and ball-handling skills that personified Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman, who was an All-American at Old Dominion. The award was first introduced four years ago, and UConn's Sue Bird has been the only recepient, winning the last three seasons.

Sportswriters from across the country will nominate the finalists and eventual winner. This year's award will be presented at a luncheon at the Detroit Athletic Club on April 9.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder