Wrestling Team Blanks Portland State

Feb. 19, 2003

PORTLAND - The Oregon wrestling team bounced back from a disappointing loss to Oregon State with a 42-0 victory over Portland State in the final dual meet of the season for both teams. The Ducks (8-11, 6-5) scored their first shutout since the 1981-82 season in preparation for the Pac-10 tournament, which takes place in less than two weeks.

'We wanted to approach this as kind of the first round of the Pac-10 tournament,' head coach Chuck Kearney said. 'We got done what we needed to get done and it should help us in our workouts this next week.'

The Ducks had no problem with the Vikings all night, winning three major decisions and adding a fall en route to the convincing victory. Senior Tony Overstake and junior Jason Harless took the night off, allowing some young Ducks the chance to shine.

Redshirt freshman Bob Pool, wrestling in his first collegiate dual, made the most of his opportunity at the 149 weight class. Pool threw his opponent on his back and scored a pin only 25 seconds into the match. Senior Casey Hunt, wrestling in his final dual as a Duck, had already scored a major decision at 141.

Things kept rolling for the Ducks the rest of the night. Luke Larwin (165) scored an impressive victory at 165 against Eric Arbogast, who had won 11 of his last 12 matches coming into the dual. Sophomore Shane Webster, ranked No. 11 nationally at 174, won his sixth straight match, this time by major decision, 23-11.

Following two forfeits by the Vikings, Neil Phillips broke a nine-match losing streak with a 13-5 major decision victory at heavyweight. Martin Mitchell (125) and Jacob Boyles (133) each won decisions to score the final six points for the Ducks.

The Pac-10 tournament will take place in Boise, Idaho, on Mar. 2 and 3. The Ducks placed second at last season's tournament and qualified eight wrestlers for the NCAA Championships.

Oregon 42, Portland State 0
141: Casey Hunt (UO) major dec. over Eddie Dahlen (PSU), 17-5
149: Bob Pool (UO) pinned Stuart Eggertson (PSU), 0:25
157: Branson Phillips (UO) dec. over Ryan Thomas (PSU), 3-0
165: Luke Larwin (UO) dec. over Eric Arbogast (PSU), 4-3
174: #11 Shane Webster (UO) major dec. over Quinn Collett (PSU), 23-11
184: Tony Rolen (UO) won by forfeit
197: Elias Soto (UO) won by forfeit
285: Neil Phillips (UO) major dec. over Antonio Criado (PSU), 13-5
125: Martin Mitchell (UO) dec. over Zac Enoch (PSU), 9-4
133: Jacob Boyles (UO) dec. over Casey Kotter (PSU), 5-3

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder