Award Winners Announced At Banquet

Feb. 21, 2003

PULLMAN, Wash. --- Quarterback Jason Gesser and cornerback Marcus Trufant were named Washington State's most valuable offensive and defensive players Tuesday evening at the team's annual postseason banquet.

Gesser capped his WSU career by throwing for 3,408 yards and 28 touchdowns in 2002. The Hawaii native shared Pac-10 offensive player of the year honors with USC's Carson Palmer and led the Cougars to the conference title.

Trufant was fourth on the team in tackles with 74 and picked off three passes while breaking up 13 others. The Tacoma, Wash., product earned first team All-Pac-10 and All-America honors from ESPN.

Seven other players received awards. Senior wide receiver Collin Henderson took home the Frank Butler Award for demonstrating Cougar Spirit, while senior defensive end Fred Shavies captured the Fred Bohler Award for most inspirational player.

Senior defensive tackle Tomasi Kongaika won the Tim Petek Strongest Man Award, while Junior Tupai received the Ozzie Dire Award, given each year to an outstanding walk-on. Senior linebacker Mawuli Davis earned the Laurie Niemi Award.

Senior offensive guard Derrick Roche won the Offensive Lineman of the Year Award, while defensive tackle Rien Long captured the Leon Bender Defensive Lineman of the Year Award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder