Michelle Greco Named to Wade Trophy Watch List

Feb. 24, 2003

UCLA senior guard Michelle Greco has been selected as one of 13 players on the 2002-03 State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List. The Wade Trophy, considered the 'Heisman' of Women's Basketball, has been awarded annually since 1978 to the Nation's Best Division I women's basketball player.

Greco, a 5-9 senior from La Crescenta, CA (Crescenta Valley HS), is the leading scorer in the Pacific 10 Conference at 19.4 points per game. She also leads the conference in steals (2.84) and ranks among the top five in free throw percentage (.815). With 1,645 points, Greco ranks seventh on UCLA's all-time career scoring list. She ranks second at UCLA and fourth in Pac-10 history in steals with a current total of 278.

The 2001 Pac-10 scoring leader and first-team all-conference selection has recorded a Pac-10 best 12 20-point scoring games this season, including a 31-point effort against Pepperdine and a 28-point, eight steal game against Stanford. Earlier this season, she set a UCLA record by converting 32 consecutive free throw attempts and currently is third at the school in career free throw percentage with a .814 mark.

Greco was selected to the CLASS Award Watch List earlier this year and earned Pac-10 Player of the Week honors for Jan. 6-13. She was also named the MVP of the Las Vegas Shootout Tournament and selected to the all-tournament team at the Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort Classic earlier this season.

Also named to the State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List are: Chantelle Anderson (Vanderbilt), Alana Beard (Duke), Carla Bennett (Drake), Kara Lawson (Tennessee), Kelly Mazzante (Penn State), Nicole Ohlde (Kansas State), Nicole Powell (Stanford), Diana Taurasi (U.Conn), LaToya Thomas (Mississippi State), Iciss Tillis (Duke), Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota), Shereka Wright (Purdue).

The State Farm Wade Trophy is awarded at the WBCA National Convention held annually in conjunction with the NCAA Division I Women's Final Four. This year, the State Farm Wade Trophy will be presented on Monday, April 7 in Atlanta. Previous winners include: Nancy Lieberman, Old Dominion; LaTaunya Pollard, Long Beach State; Cheryl Miller, USC; Jennifer Azzi, Stanford; Rebecca Lobo, U.Conn; DeLisha Milton, Florida and last year's winner Sue Bird, U.Conn.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder