Men's Diving Heads To 2003 Pacific-10 Championships

Feb. 25, 2003

Stanford Divers Head To Washington: The Stanford men's diving team travels to Federal Way, Washington for the 2003 Pacific-10 Conference Diving Championships, February 27 through March 1 at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatics Center.

Teams from Arizona, Arizona State, California, Stanford, and USC will compete for the 2003 Pac-10 Men's Diving Championship.

Order of Events:
Thurs., Feb. 27
1 p.m. Men's Three Meter Preliminaries
6 p.m. Men's Three Meter Finals
Fri., Feb. 28
1 p.m. Men's One Meter Preliminaries
6 p.m. Men's One Meter Finals
Sat., March 1
1 p.m. Men's & Women's Platform
3 p.m. Men's Platform Finals

*All times subject to change.

Stanford In The Rankings: The Stanford men's swimming and diving team is currently ranked No. 1 in the nation, according to the latest C.S.C.A.A. poll that was released on February 13. Five Pac-10 teams are ranked in the top 20, with two teams in the top 5.

Tickets: Tickets for the 2003 Pacific-10 Conference Men's and Women's Diving Championships are available at the Championship or may be purchased in advance from the California ticket office in Berkeley, (800) GO-BEARS. An All-Session adult pass is $25, an All-Session student/senior citizen pass is $15. Single-day tickets are available at $10 for adults or $5 for a student/senior citizen.

Live Stats: Live stats for the 2003 Pac-10 Championships will be available through the Cal web site at

Last Year: USC claimed all three women's diving crowns at last year's Pac-10 Championships, while Arizona swept all three competitions on the men's side. Arizona's Omar Ojeda notched all three events and was named the Pac-10 Men's Diver of the Year. In the one-meter diving and platform diving competitions, Arizona claimed four of the top six places in both events, along with winning the top two spots in the three-meter event.

Zone 'E' Championships: The NCAA Zone 'E' Diving Championships will take place Friday through Sunday, March 14-16, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. The finals will take place March 27-29 at the Jamail Texas Swim Center in Austin, Texas.

Results: Results will be posted on the Pac-10 web site ( and the California web site (

Diving Coach Rick Schavone: One of the top diving instructors in the country, Dr. Rick Schavone enters his 24th year on the Farm. The 1992 and 1993 NCAA Diving Coach of the Year, Schavone serves as the head coach for both the men's & women's diving teams. In addition to his work on the Stanford campus, Schavone has served as the head coach for several United States diving teams, including competitions in Rome and Vienna with the U.S. National Team in 1999, the 1997 World University Games in Sicily, Italy and the 1990 Goodwill Games.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder