Nicole Powell Named A State Farm Wade Trophy Finalist

Feb. 25, 2003

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford University's Nicole Powell (Phoenix, AZ) has been named as one of 13 finalists for the State Farm Wade Trophy emblematic of the top female collegiate basketball player in the country.

The State Farm Wade Trophy is presented annually to the top Division I female women's basketball player. The finalists are selected based on game and season statistics, leadership, character and overall playing ability. The award will be presented on Monday, April 7 in Atlanta in conjunction with NCAA Women's Final Four.

Powell, who received her sixth career Pac-10 Player of the Week honor on Monday, is averaging a near double-double of 18.5 points, 9.5 rebounds, 3.6 assists and 1.8 steals for the Cardinal, which clinched its third straight Pac-10 regular season title last weekend. Powell has scored in double figures in 14 of her 16 games since returning from a back injury, and has pulled down 10 or more rebounds eight times. In conference play, she ranks among the Pac-10 leaders in 11 out of a 12 possible categories.

Though just a junior, she has already made a huge impact on the Stanford record book. She holds the school single season (327) and single game (21) rebounding records, and ranks first in school history in rebounds per game (9.1), fourth in points per game (16.0), fourth in free throw percentage (81.0), sixth in rebounds (734), eighth in assists (419) and 15th in points (1,296).

The other finalists are Chantelle Anderson (Vanderbilt), Alana Beard (Duke), Carla Bennett (Drake), Michelle Greco (UCLA), Kara Lawson (Tennessee), Kelley Mazzante (Penn State), Nicole Ohlde (Kansas State), Diana Taurasi (Connecticut), LaToya Thomas (Mississippi State), Iciss Tillis (Duke), Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota) and Shereka Wright (Purdue).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder