Husky Men Win Sundodger Invitational, Women Take Second

Sept. 21, 2002

Complete Men's Invitational Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Complete Women's Invitational Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Complete Men's Open Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Complete Women's Open Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Behind outstanding performances by juniors Eric Garner and Todd Arnold, Washington's 27th-ranked men's cross-country team ran to victory Saturday in the Sundodger Invitational at West Seattle's Lincoln Park. The Huskies finished with a low score of 46, ahead of the 61 points of second-place Texas A&M.

Washington's women, meanwhile, overcame the absence of two of their top runners to score 72 team points, second only to the 45 of 32nd-ranked Michigan.

Garner and Arnold finished seventh and eighth, respectively, in the men's Invitational race, leading a group of five Huskies in the top-14, and nine in the top-23. Garner's time of 24 minutes, 23 seconds shaved 23 seconds off of his previous 8,000-meter best, while Arnold's 24:28 mark was 24 seconds faster than his previous PR. Western Washington's Paul Kezes ran away with the race's individual title, posting a time of 23:42 that was just two seconds shy of the course record.

Freshman Laura Hodgson led all Husky women's Invitational competitors with a fourth-place finish, completing the 5,000-meter course in 17:16, nearly 30 seconds faster than her previous best. Former Husky Sabrina Monro successfully defended her 2001 Sundodger Invitational crown with a 16:31 finish, third-fastest all-time in the event. Texas A&M's Melissa Gulli and Idaho's Letiwe Marukawa also posted top-10 all-time Sundodger marks in their respective second- and third-place finishes.

'Laura's been a very pleasant surprise,' says Metcalf of the freshman Hodgson. 'I knew she was going to be pretty good, but she's just racing fantastic right now.'

Hodgson wasn't the only Husky to make waves in her home debut. Eight of the Huskies' top-14 men's runners - none of whom finished lower than 42nd - were freshmen or redshirt freshmen. Andy Fader and Mark Mandi, both redshirt freshmen, placed 19th and 21st, respectively, while true freshmen John Hickey (23rd), Mike Sayenko (26th), Travis Boyd (32nd), Matt Franck (37th), Stephen Mull (39th) and Jesse Fayant (42nd) rounded out the dynamic group.

'Those guys are awesome,' said co-captain Garner. 'They've been working really hard over the summer and are going to come through for us in a big way this season. They make our team extremely deep.'

The Huskies return to the course in two weeks for the Notre Dame Invitational at South Bend, Ind.

Complete results of Saturday's races are available at the official site of University of Washington athletics,

Sundodger Invitational
Lincoln Park; Seattle, Wash.

Men's Invitational Results (8,000m)
Teams: 1. Washington 46; 2. Texas A&M 61; 3. South Dakota State 84; 4. Pacific Sport-Vancouver 115; 5. Idaho 124; 6. Boise State 141; 7. Club Northwest 154; 8. Eastern Washington 213; 9. Cal Sttate-Northridge 253.
Individual Winner: Paul Kezes, Western Washington, 23:42
Husky Finshers: 7. Eric Garner, 24:23; 8. Todd Arnold, 24:28; 12. Michael Kiter, 24:41; 13. Matt Topping, 24:41; 14. Jeremy Park, 24:43; 19. Andy Fader, 24:46; 21. Ben Koss, 24:52; 22. Mark Mandi, 24:52; 23. John Hickey, 24:52; 26. Mike Sayenko, 24:57; 32. Travis Boyd, 25:03; 37. Matt Franck, 25:17; 39. Stephen Mull, 25:21; 42. Jesse Fayant, 25:27; 52. Jake Haskins, 25:45; 57. John Russell, 25:58; 60. Matt Owen, 26:03; 63. Kevin Hansen, 26:09; 66. Chris Fayant, 26:16; 68. Andrew Robinson, 26:24; 69. Dustin Duke, 26:30; 74. Evan Wirkkala, 26:48; 75. Doug Gibson, 26:49.

Women's Invitational Results (5,000m)
1. Michigan 45; 2. Washington 72; 3. Idaho 73; 4. Texas A&M 86; 5. Portland 136; 6. Cal State-Northridge 180; 7. South Dakota State 181; 8. Boise State 207; 9. Eastern Washington 234.
Individual Winner: Sabrina Monro, Unattached, 16:31
Husky finishers: 4. Laura Hodgson, 17:16; 7. Kate Bradshaw, 17:24; 19. Lindsey Egerdahl, 17:45; 24. Kate Spigel, 17:51; 27. Chessa Adsit-Morris, 17:54; 29. Camille Connelly, 17:56; 32. Noelani Kaneko, 18:01; 34. Laura Halvorsen, 18:03; 55. Kathryn Touran, 18:37; 67. Karen Schwager, 19:05; 70. Melissa Chapman, 19:09; 74. Jill Johnson, 19:22; 79. Ellen Murray, 19:33; 84. Samantha Michel, 20:14; 86. Courtney Spence, 20:29

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network