June Daugherty Named Finalist For Naismith Women's Basketball Coach of the Year Award

Feb. 26, 2003

ATLANTA, Ga. - Washington's June Daugherty has been named one of 25 finalists for the Naismith Women's College Basketball Head Coach of the Year Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday.

Daugherty, in her seventh-season at the helm of the Husky women's basketball program, has guided Washington to a 20-6 overall record (12-5 in the Pac-10) with one game remaining on the season slate vs. Washington State, Saturday. This year marks the first that a Husky team under Daugherty has reached 20-wins during the regular season. It is the second 20-win season for Daugherty, who led the Huskies to a 22-10 overall record (19-9 in the regular season) and a trip to the NCAA Elite Eight in 2000-01.

Daugherty is joined on the list by fellow Pac-10 coaches Joan Bonvicini (Arizona) and Tara VanDerveer (Stanford), as well as Geno Auriemma (Connecticut), Melanie Balcomb (Vanderbilt), Gary Blair (Arkansas), Kevin Borseth (Wisconsin-Green Bay), Pam Borton (Minnesota), Kurt Budke (LA Tech), Jody Conradt (Texas), Kristy Curry (Purdue), Sharon Fanning (Mississippi State), Mark French (UC Santa Barbara), Gail Goestenkors (Duke), Sue Gunter (LSU), Sylvia Hatchell (North Carolina), Cathy Inglese (Boston College), Andy Landers (Georgia), Deb Patterson (Kansas State), Harry Perretta (Villanova), Rene Portland (Penn State), Marsha Sharp (Texas Tech), Vivian Stringer (Rutgers), Pat Summit (Tennessee) and Susan Walvius (South Carolina).

The winner of the award will be honored in Atlanta on April 11, 2003 at the Georgia World Congress Center.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder