Pacific-10 Wrestling Championship Seedings Announced

March 1, 2003

BOISE, Idaho - -

Five Oregon State wrestlers earned a seeding of third or higher at the 2003 Pacific-10 Conference Championships when the brackets were announced late Saturday night. The championships begin Sunday morning at 11 a.m. at the BSU Pavilion and wrap up Monday night with the championship matches.

Senior Jason Lovell (197 pounds) is OSU's only top seed, but junior Jed Pennell (184 pounds) and sophomore Matt Ellis (165 pounds) were seeded second in their brackets. Jake Huffman (174 pounds), a senior, and senior heavyweight Andy Bowlby are seeded third.

The following is a breakdown of OSU's first session matchups (OSU wrestler is listed first, with seed in parentheses, and national ranking denoted No. x):

125 pounds: Michael Delaney vs. Jeremy Mendoza, Arizona State (pigtail)

133: Tim Norman vs. (3) Brad Metzler, Stanford

141: Mike Unger vs. (4) Juan Mora, Cal-Fullerton

149: Tony Hook vs. (2) No. 6 Collin Robertson, Boise State

157: Jeremy Larson vs. Ben Cherrington, Boise State (pigtail)

165: (2) Matt Ellis vs. Luke Larwin, Oregon

174: (3) Jake Huffman vs. Matt Monteiro, Cal St.-Bakersfield (pigtail)

184: (2) Jed Pennell vs. Tony Rolen, Oregon

197: (1) Jason Lovell vs. Landon Seefeldt, Cal-Fullerton (pigtail)

Hwt: (3) No. 12 Andy Bowlby vs. Shawn Ritzenthaler, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder