No. 1 Cardinal Take Early Lead At Pac-10 Championships

March 6, 2003

Long Beach, Calif. - The top-ranked Stanford men's swimming team took the early lead at the 2003 Pacific-10 Men's Swimming Championships at the Belmont Plaza Pool in Long Beach, Calif. with a total of 228 points. California is a close second at 216, followed by USC (173) and Arizona State (132). Rounding out the field are Arizona (91) and Washington (43).

In the first event of the evening, the 200 freestyle relay, the Cardinal relay team of Randall Bal, Peter Marshall, Andrew Schnell and Bobby O'Bryan finished second with an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:18.07. Swimming unofficially, Stanford's 'B' relay team of Scott Ransenberg, Dan Westcott, Thomas Zochowski and Jayme Cramer took fourth (1:19.93).

The next event was the 500 freestyle, where Cardinal Matt Sorlien took second, clocking in at an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 4:19.09. Freshman Mike McLean placed eighth (4:27.19) while senior John Waters tied for ninth overall (first in the consolation final) with a time of 4:25.14 (an NCAA 'B' qualifying time). Thomas Brown finished 16th (4:29.75).

Junior Markus Rogan was the top Cardinal finisher in the 200 IM, taking second in an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:45.87. Sophomore Dan Trupin placed third (1:46.94) while teammate Michael Bruce was fifth (1:47.26). Freshman Tobias Oriwol finished 11th overall (1:49.16) and Matt McDonald was 15th (1:51.85).

In the 50 freestyle, Senior Randall Bal placed third in an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 19.77, after tying his season-best of 19.75 in the prelims. Cardinal Scott Ransenberg placed ninth overall (first in the consolation final), clocking in at 20.08 (NCAA 'B' time) while teammate Bobby O'Bryan was 11th (20.26).

In the final event of the evening, Stanford claimed it's first Pac-10 Championship title as the 400 medley relay team of Peter Marshall, Michael Bruce, Dan Westcott and Randall Bal broke the Pac-10 meet record (set by Stanford in 2002) with their time of 3:08.74. This time is an NCAA automatic qualifying time as well. Swimming unofficially, Stanford's 'B' relay team of Jayme Cramer, Pat Fowler, Matt McDonald and Thomas Zochowski took second (3:13.08) - an NCAA 'B' qualifying time.

The one-meter diving event which was held last weekend, in conjunction with the women's league championship was factored into the first day scoring. Cardinal Gavin Olmstead led the Cardinal with a seventh-place showing (275.60).

Action continues tomorrow at the Pac-10 Championships in Long Beach, Calif., with prelims beginning at 11 a.m. and finals starting at 6 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.