Diogu Earns Freshman Of The Year And All-Pac-10 Honors

March 10, 2003

In a vote of the 10 Conference coaches, Oregon junior guard Luke Ridnour has been named the 2002-03 Pacific-10 Men's Basketball Player of the Year, Arizona State forward Ike Diogu has been named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, and Mike Montgomery of Stanford and Lute Olson of Arizona are the Pac-10 Co-Coaches of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Diogu also became the ninth freshman to earn All-Pac-10 honors since the formation of the 10-team league in 1978-79. He ranks third in the league in scoring (18.8 ppg) and fifth in rebounds (7.6 rpg), while he's second in the league in field goal percentage (.609). His scoring average ranks third all-time among Pac-10 freshman, trailing only California's Shareef Abdur-Rahim (21.2 ppg) and USC's Harold Miner (20.6 ppg). Seniors Curtis Millage and Tommy Smith both earned honorable mention honors.


Name	School	Pos	Yr	Ht	Wt	Hometown (Last School)Julius Barnes	STAN	G	Sr.	6-1	180	Rowland Heights, Calif. (Rowland HS)Ike Diogu	ASU	C	Fr.	6-8	250	Garland, Texas (Garland HS)Jason Gardner	ARIZ	G	Sr.	5-10	181	Indianapolis, Ind. (North Central HS)Luke Jackson	ORE	F	Jr.	6-7	210	Creswell, Ore (Creswell HS)Jason Kapono	UCLA	F	Sr.	6-8	215	Lakewood, Calif. (Artesia HS)Philip Ricci	OSU	F	Sr.	6-7	253	Galt, Calif. (San Joaquin Delta JC)Luke Ridnour	ORE	G	Jr.	6-2	165	Blaine, Wash. (Blaine HS)Joe Shipp	CAL	F	Sr.	6-5	220	Los Angeles, Calif. (Fairfax HS)Amit Tamir	CAL	F	So.	6-11	260	Jerusalem, Israel (Ort HS)Luke Walton	ARIZ	F	Sr.	6-8	241	San Diego, Calif. (University HS)


Name School Pos Ht Wt Hometown (High School)Hassan Adams ARIZ G/F 6-4 201 Los Angeles, Calif. (Westchester HS)Ike Diogu ASU C 6-8 250 Garland, Texas (Garland HS)Andre Igoudala ARIZ F 6-6 200 Springfield, Ill. (Lamphier HS)Richard Midgley CAL G 6-1 200 Burgess Hill, England (Modesto Christian, Calif. HS)Nate Robinson WASH G 5-9 170 Seattle, Wash. (Rainer Beach HS)


SEASON2002-03--Ike Diogu, Freshman of the Year1999-00--Eddie House, Player of the Year1990-91--Jamal Faulkner, Freshman of the Year1979-80--Byron Scott, Freshman of the Year1979-80--Ned Wulk, Coach of the Year

All-Pac-10 Freshman Selections (1978-79 to present)

1985-86Todd Lichti, Stanford

1989-90Brian Hendrick, CaliforniaHarold Miner, USC

1992-93Jason Kidd, California

1995-96Shareef Abdur-Rahim, California

1999-00Jason Gardner, ArizonaCasey Jacobsen, StanfordJason Kapono, UCLA

2002-03Ike Diogu, Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network