Philip Ricci Named To USBWA All-District 9 Team

March 11, 2003

Oregon State University senior forward Philip Ricci has been named to the 10-member United States Basketball Writers Association District 9 Team, which was announced by the USBWA on Tuesday.

Ricci leads the Pacific-10 Conference for rebounding at 8.3 per game, and he is OSU's leading scorer at 16.9 points per game, which ties for fifth in the Pac-10. He is ninth in the league for field goal percentage at .520, and his 1.2 blocks per game ranks sixth in the conference. He could end the season as the first Oregon State player to lead the conference for rebounding since A.C. Green in 1985.

Arizona's Jason Gardner was named the District 9 Player of the Year, and Stanford's Mike Montgomery was voted Coach of the Year.

Joining Ricci and Gardner on the District Team were Julius Barnes (Stanford), Tony Bland (San Diego State), Ike Diogu (Arizona State), Carl English (Hawaii), Jason Keep (Univ. of San Diego), Luke Ridnour (Oregon), Joe Shipp (Cal) and Blake Stepp (Gonzaga).

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network