Bruins Capture 2003 Berg Cup

March 22, 2003

Newport Beach, Calif. - The UCLA women's rowing team competed at the 8th Annual Berg Cup today in Newport Beach, Calif., hosted by Orange Coast College. Also competing in the regatta were Chapman University, Long Beach State, UC Irvine, University of San Diego, and UC San Diego. The Bruins won three of four races, including the varsity race, and were crowned 2003 Berg Cup champions.

After two restarts in the Women's Novice Eights, the regatta was underway. UCLA, rowing in the newly christened 'Bobby Field,' started at 39 strokes per minute and took the early lead. By the 250m mark, the Bruins already had an open water advantage over the field and cruised to victory in a time of 6:49.7. The University of San Diego (7:00.8) finished second, 11-seconds behind the UCLA novices, followed by UC San Diego (7:04.3), UC Irvine (7:17.6), OCC (7:31.5), Chapman (7:42.6), and Long Beach State (7:54.8).

In the Women's Second Novice Eights, UCLA dueled UC San Diego. The Bruins maintained an early lead and won the race in a time of 7:26.99. The Triton second novice eight posted a time of 7:39.0.

In the Women's Second Varsity Eights, UCLA took an early two-seat lead over Orange Coast College and University of San Diego 250 meters into the race. Nearing the OCC Boathouse (about the 1300m mark), UCLA held a three-seat advantage over USD, but the Toreros made a move in the final 500 meters and won the race in 7:06.4. UCLA finished second in 7:08.8, followed by Orange Coast (7:11.0), Long Beach State (7:17.0), UC Irvine (7:21.1), and UC San Diego (7:26.8).

In the Berg Cup race, the Bruin varsity eight started at 43 strokes per minute and had a boat length advantage at the 500m mark. As the crews passed the OCC Boathouse, USD made up ground, but UCLA still maintained a three-seat lead. Entering the final sprint, the Bruins did a power 10 and increased their stroke rate to 43. UCLA (6:42.5) increased separation from USD (6:47.8) and won the race to be crowned 2003 Berg Cup champions. UC Irvine (6:50.4), Long Beach State (6:52.4), UC San Diego (7:12.0), and Chapman (7:24.8) rounded the field.

The Bruins next compete against Loyola Marymount for the Karen Hock-Hjelm Cup on Saturday, March 29, in Marina del Rey, Calif.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder