Stanford Places Second At Pac-10 Championships

March 29, 2003

Stanford, Calif. - Junior Lindsay Wing (Cypress, TX) won the balance beam to lead the Stanford women's gymnastics team at the 2003 Pac-10 Gymnastics Championships at Pauley Pavilion on Saturday evening, but it was not enough to hold off top-ranked UCLA. The Bruins finished with a final team score of 198.175, while the Cardinal held on for a second place finish with a 197.700.

Stanford got strong performances from Lise L�veill� (Burnaby, BC) and Natalie Foley (Englewood, CO), who placed third and fourth, respectively, in the all-around, to finish with a 197.700. Arizona State finished in third with a 197.075, followed by Washington (196.750), Oregon State (196.650), Arizona (195.950) and California (195.925).

The Cardinal started on vault, led by Glyn Sweets ' (Reston, VA) 9.925 to tie for third and L�veill�'s career-high tying 9.900 to tie for fifth. Shelly Goldberg (Mequon, WI) tied for 11th overall, recording a 9.850 on vault.

Caroline Fluhrer (Seattle, WA) and Foley each posted 9.925 performances on bars to lead Stanford, tying for fifth place. The Cardinal moved to the beam, where they recorded the highest team score at the championships (49.500). Wing won the event (9.975), while L�veill� (9.950) and Foley (9.925) tied for second and fourth, respectively. Fluhrer (9.850) and Sweets (9.800) also contributed to the team's beam score.

Trailing UCLA 148.775-148.15 after three events, Stanford moved to the floor. The Cardinal gave it their all, scoring a season-high 49.550 and got career-high tying performances from L�veill� (9.975) and Foley (9.950), but it was not enough to overtake UCLA who won its fourth Pac-10 title in five years.

L�veill� and Foley finished three-four in the all-around with scores of 39.675 and 39.625, respectively. Fluhrer finished with a 39.475 to place eighth for the Cardinal.

In a vote by the Pac-10 coaches prior to the meet, Willis was named Pac-10 Gymnast of the Year, and Richardson was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. UCLA head coach Valorie Kondos Field and Cal coach Cari DuBois were named Co-Coaches of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder