Jason Gardner Named Second Team All-America

March 31, 2003

TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona men's basketball player Jason Gardner earned second team All-America honors from the National Association of Basketball Coaches. It is Gardner's second All-America selection this season.

Gardner, who earned similar honors from the United States Basketball Writers Association, was named to the NABC's second team. He is joined on that squad by Carmelo Anthony of Syracuse, Keith Bogans of Kentucky, Dwayne Wade of Marquette and Mike Sweetney of Georgetown.

The highest-scoring guard in Arizona history, Gardner, a 5-foot-10, 191-pound senior from Indianapolis, Ind., averaged 14.8 points, 4.0 rebounds and 4.9 assists in 32 games this season. He averaged a team-best 34.9 minutes per game, shot 39.2 percent from the field, including 33.2 percent from three-point range. Gardner scored in double figures in 24 of 32 games and passed out at least five assists in a game 17 times in 2002-03. He is the only Arizona player to register at least one double-figure point, rebound and assist game this season.

Gardner was named all-Pacific-10 Conference for the third time in his career on March 10 and was a second team USBWA All-America selection. Gardner received All-America accolades eight times in his four-year career.

He is the school record holder for career games (136) and minutes (4,825) played, as well as games started (135). Gardner finished his Arizona career ranked among the career leaders in 13 statistical categories. In 136 career games played, Gardner tallied 1,984 points (14.6 ppg), 462 rebounds (3.4 rpg), 622 assists (4.6 apg) and 225 steals (1.7 spg).

The second-ranked Wildcats (28-4 overall, 17-1 Pac-10) won the 2003 Pacific-10 Conference regular season championship and qualified to the NCAA Tournament for the 19th consecutive season. Arizona advanced to the West Regional final.

National Association of Basketball Coaches
2003 All-America Teams

First Team
David West, Xavier
Josh Howard, Wake Forest
Nick Collison, Kansas
T.J. Ford, Texas
Hollis Price, Oklahoma

Second Team
Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse
Dwayne Wade, Marquette
Mike Sweetney, Georgetown
Keith Bogans, Kentucky
Jason Gardner, Arizona

Third Team
Kyle Korver, Creighton
Brian Cook, Illinois
Emeka Okafor, Connecticut
Reece Gaines, Louisville
Kirk Hinrich, Kansas

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder