No. 12 Beavers To Compete At Missouri In NCAA Regional Gymnastics

March 31, 2003

No. 12 Oregon State is among the six teams that will compete in the NCAA South Central Region Women's Gymnastics Championships at Missouri on April 12.

No. 1 UCLA, No. 13 Iowa, No. 19 Arizona, Missouri and Illinois-Chicago round out the six-team competition.

The top two teams at the regional competition will advance to the NCAA Championships, set for April 24-26 at Nebraska.

Oregon State will start the regional meet on floor, followed by vault. After a bye, the Beavers will compete on bars and beam, finishing the meet on a bye. The rotation order was selected by a random draw.

In addition, there will be five all-arounders and four event specialists whose teams did not qualify for the competition. Illinois' Kara Kapernekas will rotate with the Beavers. Other all-arounders are Ashley Williams of Illinois, Denise Houda of Illinois State, Kristina Campos of Northern Illinois, and Ashley Godwin of Southeast Missouri State. Luci Romberg of Texas Woman's University will compete on vault, with TWU teammates Stephanie Loudat (bars) and Amber McMeans (floor) also qualifying. Illinois State's Lisa Klein is the event specialist on beam.


	Vault	Bye	Bars	Beam	Bye	FloorRot. 1	Iowa	MU	UIC	UA	UCLA	OSURot. 2	OSU	Iowa	MU	UIC	UA	UCLARot. 3	UCLA	OSU	Iowa	MU	UIC	UARot. 4	UA	UCLA	OSU	Iowa	MU	UICRot. 5	UIC	UA	UCLA	OSU	Iowa	MURot. 6	MU	IUC	UA	UCLA	OSU	Iowa

Individual All-Arounders Kristina Campos, Northern Illinois (Will compete with Iowa);Ashley Godwin, Southeast Missouri State (Will compete with Missouri);Ashley Williams, Illinois (Will compete with Arizona);Denise Houda, Illinois State (Will compete with UCLA);Kara Kapernekas, Illinois (Will compete with Oregon State)

Event Specialists (All gymnasts will compete with Illinois-Chicago)Vault - Luci Romberg, Texas Woman's University;Bars - Stephanie Loudat, Texas Woman's University;Beam - Lisa Klein, Illinois State;Floor - Amber McMeans, Texas Woman's University

Other Regional Fields

West Region (at Washington ): No. 2 Nebraska, No. 11 Washington, No. 14 LSU, Boise State, Cal State Fullerton, San Jose State

North Central Region (at Utah): No. 6 Stanford, No. 8 Utah, No. 18 California, No. 20 Brigham Young, No. 21 Denver, No. 23 Minnesota

Central Region (at Alabama): No. 5 Alabama, No. 7 Oklahoma, No. 17 Auburn, No. 21 Kent State, No. 25 Central Michigan, Michigan State

Northeast Region (at Michigan): No. 3 Arizona State, No. 10 Michigan, No. 15 Iowa State, New Hampshire, Penn State, Pittsburgh

Southeast Region (at Georgia): No. 4 Georgia, No. 9 Florida, No. 16 Ohio State, No. 24 N.C. State, North Carolina, Maryland

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder