Hartley, Li Named Pac-10 Women's Diver, Coach Of The Year

April 3, 2003

USC sophomore Blythe Hartley has been named Pacific-10 Conference Diver of the Year for the second consecutive year while her coach at Troy, Hongping Li, has been named Coach of the Year for the third straight season, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced on Thursday (April 3).

Hartley, a sophomore from North Vancouver, BC, was a three-time All-American for the second consecutive year for the Trojans and finished among the top 3 in all three diving events at the NCAAs. Earlier in the season, she swept all three events at the Pac-10 Championships, giving her four for her career. Hartley became only the second Pac-10 woman ever to sweep all three events. The first was Stanford's Katie Connors in 1988.

Hartley's Women's Diver of the Year honor is USC's fourth in the last six years. Kellie Brennan won the award in 2001 while Dorte Lindner won it in 1998.

Li, in his fourth year at USC, helped lead the Trojans to three Pac-10 individual titles and six top-eight finishes. The USC women's swimming and diving team took third overall at both the Pac-10s and NCAA Championships, earning a combined four All-American honors at the latter.

The Conference awards are voted on by the coaches.


Diver of the Year Coach of the Year Newcomer of the Year1994 Kristen Walls, UCLA Ward O'Connell, ASU1995 Eileen Richetelli, STAN Rick Schavone, STAN1996 Megan Gardner, STAN Tom Scotty, UCLA1997 Megan Gardner, STAN Rick Schavone, STAN1998 Dorte Lindner, USC Jeff Shaffer, USC1999 Lindsay Berryman, ARIZ Rick Schavone, STAN --- Kim Powers, STAN2000 Erin Sones, STAN Rick Schavone, STAN McKenze Murphy, STAN2001 Kellie Brennan, USC Hongping Li, USC Nicci Fusaro, USC2002 Blythe Hartley, USC Hongping Li, USC Blythe Hartley, USC2003 Blythe Hartley, USC Hongping Li, Trisha Tumlinson, ASU
Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder