Pac-10 Announces Men's Diving Awards

April 3, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- ARIZONA STATE swept the men's diving awards as Sun Devil Joona Puhakka was named Diver and Newcomer of the Year and head coach Mark Bradshaw was named Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Puhakka, from Helsinki, Finland, claimed both the one-meter and three-meter springboard titles at the Pac-10 Championships in Long Beach, Calif., to become the first diver in ASU history to win two individual Conference titles in the same year. Puhakka also won the one-meter national title at the NCAA Championships.

In his sixth year at the helm of the Arizona State diving program, Bradshaw collects his first Coach of the Year award. Under his guidance, Puhakka won the national championship in the one-meter springboard, along with setting three school records in various events. Bradshaw also coached the women's Newcomer of the Year, Trisha Tumlinson.

The Conference awards are voted on by the coaches.


Diver of the Year,	Coach of the Year,	Newcomer of the Year1994	Brian Earley, USC	Rick Earley, USC	---1995	David Johns, STAN	Rick Schavone, STAN	---1996	Brian Spears, ARIZ	Cynthia Potter, ARIZ	---1997	Jimmy Sjodin, STAN	Michele Mitchell-Rocha, ARIZ	---1998	Justin Dumais, USC	Jeff Shaffer, USC	---1999	Justin Dumais, USC	Jeff Shaffer, USC	---2000	Ruben Vaca, ARIZ	Michele Mitchell-Rocha, ARIZ	Ruben Vaca, ARIZ2001	Omar Ojeda, ARIZ	Michele Mitchell-Rocha, ARIZ	Omar Ojeda, ARIZ2002	Omar Ojeda, ARIZ	Michele Mitchell-Rocha, ARIZ	Thomas McCrummen, ASU2003	Joona Puhakka, ASU	Mark Bradshaw, ASU	Joona Puhakka, ASU
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder