Pac-10 Announces Women's Diving Awards

April 3, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- USC notched two diving awards as Blythe Hartley was named Pacific-10 Conference Diver of the Year for the second straight year and Hongping Li was named Coach of the Year for the third consecutive season. ARIZONA STATE's Trisha Tumlinson was named Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Hartley, a sophomore from North Vancouver, BC, became only the second woman in Pac-10 history to sweep all three events at the Conference Championships in Federal Way, Wash. Hartley also finished second in the three-meter springboard at this year's NCAA Championships with a score of 585.15.

Tumlinson, a sophomore transfer from Spring, Texas, finished third on the platform at the NCAA Championships, becoming the first Sun Devil diving All-American in three years. At the Pac-10 Championships, Tumlinson placed fourth and sixth on the one-meter and platform, respectively.

Li, in his fourth year at USC, helped lead the Trojans to three Pac-10 individual titles and six top-eight finishes. The USC swimming and diving team took third overall at both the Pac-10s and NCAA Championships. The Women's Coach of the Year award is the third of Li's career.

The Conference awards are voted on by the coaches.


Diver of the Year,	Coach of the Year,	Newcomer of the Year1994	Kristen Walls, UCLA	Ward O'Connell, ASU	---1995	Eileen Richetelli, STAN	Rick Schavone, STAN	---1996	Megan Gardner, STAN	Tom Scotty, UCLA	---1997	Megan Gardner, STAN	Rick Schavone, STAN	---1998	Dorte Lindner, USC	Jeff Shaffer, USC	---1999	Lindsay Berryman, ARIZ	Rick Schavone, STAN	---	Kim Powers, STAN2000	Erin Sones, STAN	Rick Schavone, STAN	McKenze Murphy, STAN2001	Kellie Brennan, USC	Hongping Li, USC	Nicci Fusaro, USC2002	Blythe Hartley, USC	Hongping Li, USC	Blythe Hartley, USC2003	Blythe Hartley, USC	Hongping Li, USC	Trisha Tumlinson, ASU
Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder