Polk Named Honorable Mention AP All-American

April 3, 2003

Tucson, Ariz. (April 3) -- University of Arizona women's basketball player Shawntinice Polk has been named an honorable mention All-American by the Associated Press, the organization announced on Thursday. Polk is the first Arizona freshman ever to earn this honor and is the first Wildcat in five years to receive All-America laurels of any kind.

A 6-5 freshman center, Polk led Arizona with averages of 17.4 points and 10.8 rebounds per game this season. She racked up an amazing 21 double-doubles in 31 games and set or tied 19 school records, including most rebounds in a season (335), most blocked shots (80) and most points for a freshman (538). Polk was also the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and was a first team All-Pac-10 selection.

The only previous Arizona player to receive All-America honors from the Associated Press was all-time leading scorer Adia Barnes. She was a third team All-American as a senior in 1998 after earning honorable mention laurels as a junior in 1997.

Arizona ended the 2002-03 season with a 22-9 overall mark, losing to Notre Dame in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, the Wildcats' first NCAA appearance in three years. The Cats were 13-5 in Pac-10 play and finished in a tie for second in the league standings, equaling the program's best finish ever. Arizona was runner-up at the conference tournament as well.


First Team
Alana Beard (Duke), Diana Taurasi (Connecticut), LaToya Thomas (Mississippi State), Nicole Ohlde (Kansas State), Kelly Mazzante (Penn State).

Second Team
Chantelle Anderson (Vanderbilt), Jocelyn Penn (South Carolina), Kara Lawson (Tennessee), Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota), Nicole Powell (Stanford).

Third Team
Stacy Stephens (Texas), Shereka Wright (Purdue), Kendra Wecker (Kansas State), Plenette Pierson (Texas Tech), Seimone Augustus (LSU).

Honorable Mention
Jenni Benningfield (Vanderbilt), Jennifer Butler (Massachusetts), Coretta Brown (North Carolina), Molly Creamer (Bucknell), Allison Curtin (Tulsa), Cheryl Ford (Louisiana Tech), Vanessa Hayden (Florida), Gwen Jackson (Tennessee), Tamara James (Miami, Fla.), Temeka Johnson (LSU), Chandi Jones (Houston), Trish Juhline (Villanova), Giuliana Mendiola (Washington), Jia Perkins (Texas Tech), Shawntinice Polk (Arizona), Cappie Pondexter (Rutgers), Lindsay Taylor (UC Santa Barbara), Iciss Tillis (Duke), Tan White (Mississippi State), Tanisha Wright (Penn State).

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder