Pac-10 Announces Women's Swimming Awards

April 4, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- UCLA's Cyndi Gallagher was named Coach of the Year. The Bruins' Kim Vandenberg was named Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today. California's Natalie Coughlin was named the 2002-03 Pacific-10 Conference Women's Swimmer of the Year.

Vandenberg, a freshman from Moraga, Calif., is the first Bruin to ever earn Newcomer of the Year honors. At the NCAA Championships she was UCLA's top finisher, placing fifth in the 200 fly. Vandenberg finished second in the 200 fly and fourth in the 100 fly at the Pac-10 Championships, helping UCLA capture its second ever Conference title.

Gallagher led the Bruins to an 11th place finish at the NCAA Championships. At the championships, her swimmers placed as high as fifth and tenth in the 200 fly and 50 free, respectively. At the Pac-10 Championships, Gallagher's Bruins finished first, winning their second Conference title in three years. The women's swimming Coach of the Year award is the second of Gallagher's career.

Coughlin, a junior from Concord, Calif., earns her third consecutive Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year award. She had her finest season yet in 2002-03, becoming the NCAA's first three-time titilist in the 100-yard butterfly, 100 back and 200 back. She also owns the American record in all three of those events. At the Pac-10 Championships in Federal Way, Wash., Coughlin won three individual events, including the 100 free in which she broke her own American, NCAA and Cal school record with a time of 47.42.

The Swimmer, Newcomer and Coach of the Year honors are determined by a coaches vote.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder