Varsity Eight Edge Washington for 1st Ever Jessop-Whittier Cup

April 6, 2003

SAN DIEGO - The No. 4 Cal Women have defeated the defending national champion Huskies to claim their first Jessop-Whittier Cup in San Diego. It is the first time since 1979 that the Bears have won the crew classic championship. In what can only be described as a nail-biter, the varsity eight battled from behind to edge Wahington by .08 seconds. Cal was as far down as third, but charged back over the middle 1000 meters to take the cup in 6:42.50. Stanford was third followed by USC, Washington State, OSU, and Texas.

The eight, comprised of: Shaina Kennedy, Hilarie Martin, Erin Sanford, Khobi Brooklyn, Laura Terheyden, Shelle Orem, Kaylan Vander Schilden, Martha Helgeland,and Ariana Canova simply moved their boat better than the rest.

'They fought hard today and showed that their hard work is paying off.' said Cal coach Dave O'Neill. 'The Pac-10 is proving to be one of the most competitive conferences for women's rowing and if this is any indicator, it should be an exciting season. This is the largest victory for us in a very long time, and do against the best crew in the country is equally huge for us. The Washington crew are ferocious competitors and will be just as tough when we race them in Seattle.'

In the JV eight final Cal led most of the way down the 2000 meter couse but faded in the last 500 meters to finish third in a time of 6:50.15. Washington and Washington State nipped the Bears at the line to take first and second respectively. USC was fourth behind the Bears, then Stanford and Minnesota.

Cal finished sixth in the collegiate lightweight final in a time of 7:36.22. Wisconsin took the gold, followed by Villanova, Stanford, Georgetown, and SDSU.

Cal's novice squad fared the same as the lightweights finishing sixth in a time of 7:09.02 behind winner Washington State. Oregon State finished second followed by: UCLA, Washington, Texas, and Cal.

In the open eight the Bears finished second in a time of 7:05.32.

For Complete Results see the Crew Classic Website:

Jessop-Whittier Cup Grand Final

1 Cal 6:42.502 Washington 6:42.583 Stanford 6:45.654 USC 6:46.945 Wash State 6:52.626 OSU 6:54.067 Texas 6:59.75

Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Memorial Trophy Womens JV Grand Final

1 Washington 6:48.802 Wash State 6:50.083 Cal 6:50.154 USC 7:03.305 Stanford 7:05.526 Minnesota 7:13.71

A.W. Coggeshall Cup Womens Collegiate Lt. Wt. Grand Final

1 Wisconsin 7:08.602 Villanova 7:16.953 Stanford 7:17.384 Georgetown 7:26.045 SDSU 7:31.876 Cal 7:36.22

Sea World San Diego Trophy Womens Collegiate Novice Grand Final

1 Wash State 7:01.702 Oregon State 7:02.763 UCLA 7:03.824 Wash 7:04.585 Texas 7:07.556 Cal 7:09.02

Carley Copley Cup Womens Open Grand Final

1 Lookout 6:54.572 Cal 7:05.323 Duke 7:15.764 SDRC 7:28.445 Texas 7:29.076 Lake Wash 7:37.64

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder