Bruins Host 28th Annual Norman P. Miller Cup Regatta

April 7, 2003

Los Angeles - The UCLA women's rowing team hosts the 28th Annual Norman P. Miller Cup this Saturday, April 12, at 7:30 a.m. in Ballona Creek. The schools scheduled to compete this weekend are UCLA, UC Irvine, University of San Diego, Orange Coast College, San Diego State, and Loyola Marymount. The Miller Cup, founded in 1976, honors former UCLA Vice Chancellor, Norman P. Miller, for his contributions to the program.

The Miller Cup features races between varsity eights, second varsity eights, novice eights, and varsity fours. Preliminary and final races are scheduled for the early morning. The regatta is expected to last from 7:30 - 10:30 a.m.

Last Week
The UCLA women's rowing team competed at the San Diego Crew Classic (April 5-6) in Mission Bay, Calif. Both the Bruin varsity eight and novice eight qualified for the grand finals. The UCLA varsity eight finished fifth for the Women's Cal Cup, while the UCLA novice eight placed third in the Women's Collegiate Novice race. The UCLA second varsity eight qualified for the Women's JV 3RD Final and placed third, finishing 15th overall.

Loyola Marymount, University of San Diego, UC Irvine, Orange Coast College, and San Diego State also competed at the San Diego Crew Classic. LMU and USD also qualified for the Women's Cal Cup Grand Final, where they finished second and third, respectively. UC Irvine qualified for the Women's Cal Cup Petite Final, where they placed second, finishing 14th overall. Orange Coast did not qualify for a final race, and San Diego State finished 14th overall in the Jessop-Whittier Cup.

The Bruins previously defeated USD, UC Irvine, and OCC earlier this year at the Berg Cup (Mar. 22 - Newport Beach, Calif.). UCLA also defeated LMU in the 3rd Annual Karen Hock-Hjelm Cup (Mar. 29 - Marina del Rey, Calif.), and Loyola Marymount was victorious in the Parker Cup (Mar. 10 - Newport Beach, Calif.), where they faced UC Irvine and San Diego State.

UCLA at the Miller Cup
The UCLA women's rowing team has won the Miller Cup 13 times since it was founded in 1976. In 1991, 1992, 1998, and 2001, the regatta was cancelled for various reasons. The 2003 Miller Cup is organized by the UCLA men's rowing club team as a fundraiser for their sport.

Last year at the Miller Cup, the UCLA women's rowing team won the Varsity Eight Petite Final to finish fourth overall. San Diego State was crowned 2002 Miller Cup champions with a victory in the Varsity Eight Grand Final. University of San Diego finished second, and Loyola Marymount finished third.

The Norman P. Miller Cup
1976 UCLA
1977 UCLA

1978 Long Beach State
1979 Loyola Marymount
1980 UCLA
1981 UCLA
1982 UCLA
1983 UCLA
1984 UCLA
1985 UCLA
1986 UCLA
1987 UCLA
1988 UCLA
1989 UCLA
1990 UCLA
1991 ---
1992 ---
1993 UC Santa Barbara
1994 UC Santa Barbara
1995 UC Davis
1996 Stanford
1997 San Diego State
1998 ---
1999 UC San Diego
2000 University of San Diego
2001 ---
2002 San Diego State

28th Annual Norman P. Miller Cup
Ballona Creek - Marina del Rey, Calif.
Saturday, April 12, 2003

Directions to the UCLA Boathouse
UCLA Marina del Rey Aquatic Center
14001 Fiji Way
Marina del Rey, CA

From UCLA:
Take the 405 South (San Diego Freeway).
Take the 90 West (Marina del Rey Freeway).
Follow the 90 all the way to its end (which is a surface street).
Make a LEFT on 'Mindanao.'
Make a LEFT on 'Lincoln Blvd.'
Make a RIGHT on 'Fiji Way' (the Aquatic Center is located at the end of Fiji Way, behind the Villa Venetia Apartment Complex).

Free Parking at Dock 52 (15 minutes walk from the Aquatic Center). Parking also available at the Fisherman's Village (5 minutes walk from the Aquatic Center).

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder